Saturday, 27 November, 2021

Premier Division Hockey begins today

  • Sports Correspondent
  • 19th October, 2021 01:25:58 PM
  • Print news

The much-awaited Premier Division Hockey will kick off today at the Maulana Bhashani National Hockey Stadium in the capital after three years.

The league, which had been played six times in the last 12 years; last held in 2018 where Mohammedan Sporting Club Ltd were declared the champions after an incomplete match against Mariner Young’s Club.

A total of 12 teams are participating in the league this year. In the opening day matches, Mariner Young’s Club will take on Bangladesh Police at 2:00pm; Mohammedan will play against Dilkusha SC at 4:00pm while Abahani Ltd to meet Azad SC at 6:00pm in the double-leg round-robin group phase.

The top five teams will reach the next phrase super five which will begin on November 18.

The premier league champions will be awarded Tk 3 lakh, runners-up Tk 2 lakh and third-placed Tk one lakh. However, Bangladesh Hockey Federation has invited three foreign umpires from Sri Lanka, Oman and India to conduct the whole tournament.