Tuesday, 19 October, 2021

Voting begins in BCB election

  • Sports Correspondent
  • 6th October, 2021 02:35:07 PM
  • Print news
Voting begins in BCB election

The voting of the much-talked seventh Bangladesh Cricket Board Directors’ Election began at 10:00am on Wednesday amid pleasant environment at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in the capital.

A total of 22 aspiring candidates are fighting for 14 Board of Directors’ posts in the election in three different categories.

Earlier, many people thought that the election would not spread heat but the scenario changed after several candidates withdrew their names from the election at the eleventh hour.

Kishoreganj District councillor Syed Ashfaqul Islam (Titu), who was set to run in the election from category 1 – Dhaka Division - withdrew his name from the election on Tuesday.

Madaripur District councillor Khalid Hossain earlier withdrew his name from the same subcategory, citing personal reasons.

Manikganj District councillor Naimur Rahman and Narayanganj District councillor Tanvir Ahmed (Titu) are now set to be elected unopposed from Dhaka Division subcategory and both will join the BCB as Board of Directors.

However, Khalid and Ashfaqul’s names will be on the ballot papers as they withdrew their names after September 30 - the last day of nomination withdrawal in the election category 2 - Dhaka Metro Club Representatives.

In category 1, the election is taking place in Rajshahi Division with former national skipper Khaled Mashud Pilot is fighting against Saiful Alam Swapon Chowdhury for one post.

16 aspiring candidates including Nazmul Hassan, Mahbubul Anam, Obeid Rashid Nizam and Ismail Haider Mallick are fighting for 12 posts in category 2 – Dhaka Metro Club Representatives.

 In category 3, Khaled Mahmud and Nazmul Abedin are fighting for one post.

The unofficial election results will be announced today.