Sunday, 19 September, 2021

Bangladesh bat first in 1st T20 against Australia

Bangladesh bat first in 1st T20 against Australia

Popular News

Bangladesh were sent to bat first in the opening game of the five-match T20 International series after Australia’s stand-in captain Matthew Wade won the toss at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium today.

The Tigers brought up two changes from their squad, which played the last T20 against Zimbabwe a week ago with Mustafizur Rahman and Mahedi Hasan replacing Mohammad Saifuddin and Taskin Ahmed.

The five-match series is Bangladesh’s first bilateral T20 series against Australia and they are high on confidence following their win against Zimbabwe in Test, ODI and T20 series.

Australia have never lost a T20 match against Bangladesh in four encounters, all of which were one-off meetings at World Cups.

The Aussies however lost the five-match T20 series to West Indies by 4-1 before recovering well to win three-match ODI series by 2-1.

Matthew Wade, who is leading the side in absence of Aaron Finch said they are confident to win the series in Bangladesh.

In contrast Bangladesh’s T20 captain Mahmudullah Riyad said it is high time to show that they are a good team at home.
Line Ups:
Bangladesh: Mahmudullah Riyad, Soumya Sarkar, Naim Sheikh, Shakib Al Hasan, Nurul Hasan Sohan, Afif Hossain, Shamim Patwari, Mahedi Hasan, Mustafizur Rahman, Shoriful Islam, Nasum Ahmed.

Australia: Alex Carey, Josh Philippe, Mitchell Marsh, Moises Henriques, Matthew Wade (captain, wicket-keeper), Ashton Turner, Ashton Agar, Mitchell Starc, AJ Tye, Adam Zampa, Josh Hazlewood