By-election to 3 parliamentary seats rescheduled for July 28

Sun Online Desk

10th June, 2021 04:01:19 PM printer

By-election to 3 parliamentary seats rescheduled for July 28

The Election Commission (EC) will hold by-election to three parliamentary constituencies on July 28 instead of July 14 due to the deterioration of coronavirus situation.

EC Secretary Mohammad Humayun Kabir Khandaker announced the election schedule at a press conference at the media center of the EC office in the capital's Agargaon on Thursday.

According to schedule for by-elections to Sylhet-3, Dhaka-14 and Cumilla-5 constituencies, the deadline for submitting nomination papers is June 15.

Returning officers will examine the papers on June 17, and the last date for withdrawal of candidature is June 23.

The by-election of the Laxmipur-2 constituency, however, will be held on time as a result of constitutional obligation.


Sylhet-3 seat fell vacant following ruling Awami League MP Mahmud Us Samad Chowdhury's death on March 11, Dhaka-14 following AL MP Aslamul Hoque's death on April 4, and Cumilla-5 after AL MP Abdul Matin Khasru's death on April 14.