Awami League sweeps 5th phase municipality polls

Sun Online Desk

28th February, 2021 11:09:02 printer

Awami League sweeps 5th phase municipality polls

Like previous polls victory, ruling Awami League has swept the 5th phase municipality elections bagging majority of the mayoral seats.

A number of 29 municipalities in various parts of the country saw voting from 8am to 4pm under the 5th phase on Sunday amid several incidents of clash and anarchy.

The information available till filing of the report shows victory of ruling party candidates in majority of the places.

Ruling Awami League candidate Abu Naim Mohammad Basar has become mayor in Singair of Manikganj, Abdur Rashid Khan in Nachole of Chapainawabganj, Abdur Rashid Khan in Moheshpur and Ashraful Islam in Kaliganj of Jhenaidah, Giasuddin Rubel Bhat in Raipur of Lakshmipur,  Ekramul Huq in Charghat and Tofazzal Hossain in Durgapur of Rajshahi, Md Moniruzzaman in Bhola, Md Morshed in Char Fasson, Rafika Akhter Jahan in Syedpur of Nilphamari, and Sanowar Hossain in Jamalpur.