Bangladesh win toss, elect to bat against West Indies

Sun Online Desk

3rd February, 2021 09:22:21 printer

Bangladesh win toss, elect to bat against West Indies

Bangladesh captain Mominul Haque won the toss and decided to bat first in the first of the two-match Test series against the West Indies at Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium in Chattogram on Wednesday.

Ahead of the Test series, Bangladesh won a three-match ODI series against the visitors.

This is Bangladesh’s first Test match amid the Covid-19 pandemic. The Tigers played their last Test in early 2020 against Zimbabwe at home.

Shakib Al Hasan has returned to Test cricket with this match after serving a ban imposed by ICC. Shadman Islam, the left-handed top-order batsman, has also made a comeback after missing out a few Tests due to a finger injury.

The West Indies team that inducted 10 new faces in ODI series, includes three debutants.


Bangladesh playing XI:

Tamim Iqbal, Shadman Islam, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Mominul Haque (capt), Mushfiqur Rahim, Shakib Al Hasan, Liton Das (wk), Mehidy Hasan, Nayeem Hasan, Taijul Islam, Mustafizur Rahman


West Indies playing XI:

Kraigg Brathwaite (capt), John Campbell, Jermaine Blackwood, Shayne Moseley, Nkrumah Bonner, Joshua Da Silva (wk), Kyle Mayers, Rahkeem Cornwall, Jomel Warrican, Kemar Roach, Shannon Gabriel