Federation Cup 2020

Champions Bashundhara Kings in Group C

Sk Russel KC, Sk Jamal DC in Group A

Sports Correspondent

13th December, 2020 10:37:13 printer

Champions Bashundhara Kings in Group C

Federation Cup and Bangladesh Premier League champions Bashundhara Kings is put in Group C of the upcoming Walton Federation Cup 2020 along with runners-up Rahmatganj Muslim Friends Society and Chattagram Abahani Limited.

Sheikh Russel Krira Chakra Limited and Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club Limited were put in Group A along with Bangladesh Championship League (BCL) champions Bangladesh Police Football Club while Dhaka Abahani Limited and Dhaka Mohammedan Sporting Club Limited had been placed in Group D along with Muktijoddha Sangsad Krira Chakra. The four-team Group C comprises Saif Sporting Club, Brother Union Limited, Arambagh Krira Sangha and BCL runners-up Uttar Baridhara Sporting Club.

The season’s curtain-raiser soccer meet Federation Cup will kick-off at the Bangabandhu National Stadium on Dec 22. The fixture is yet to be announced. Walton Group became the title sponsors of the meet while Premier Bank Ltd and IFIC Bank Ltd had been named as power sponsors and cosponsors respectively.

Country’s first sports channel T-Sports will telecast the matches as the host broadcasters. The champions of the meet will be awarded with Tk 5 lakh and runners-up Tk 3 lakh. Besides, each team will get participation money of Tk 2 lakh.

Ahead of the meet, a draw and logo unveiling ceremony of the meet was held at the Bangladesh Football Federation (BFF) house in Motijheel here on Sunday. BFF Senior vice-president Abdus Salam Murshedy, Walton Group Executive Director (Games and Sports) FM Iqbal Bin Anwar Dawn, BFF executive committee and professional league committee members and representatives from 13 participating teams were also present there.

“We still hope that Muktijoddha SKC will be able to take part in the league. If they won’t be able to take part, then we will transfer Uttar Baridhara from the four-team Group C to Group D in the place of Muktijoddha,” said Abdus Salam Murshedy in a press conference after the draw ceremony.

Last year, Bashundhara Kings for the first time emerged the champions in TVS 31st Federation Cup Football 2019-20 beating the high-flying Rahmatganj Muslim Friends Society by 2-1 goals in the final at BNS on January 5. With the feat, Kings stored all the domestic cups on their shelf -- the season’s curtain-raiser soccer meet Bangladesh Federation Cup, the top tier professional football league Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) and Independence Cup. They became only the third Bangladeshi club after Dhaka Abahani Limited and Sheikh Russel Krira Chakra Limited to secure all three domestic titles.