Friday, 29 September, 2023

National programming contest on citizen challenges held

  • Staff Correspondent
  • 1st March, 2020 11:24:01 AM
  • Print news

National level computer programming contest on citizen problem-solving concluded on Saturday mentioning top ten winners according innovations in solution making.

Information and Communication Technology (ICT) Division organised the National Hackathon on Frontier Technologies in association with High Commission of India in Dhaka and Tech Mahindra.

Some 150 innovators participated in the in the two-day contest at Independent University of Bangladesh (IUB) in the capital to develop solution to solve citizen centric challenges of Bangladesh.

Local Government Minister Tazul Islam was the chief guest while State Minister for ICT Division Zunaid Ahmed Palak was special guest at the closing ceremony.

Bangladesh Computer Council Executive Director Parthapratim Deb made the address of welcome.

Deputy High Commissioner of India to Bangladesh Biswadip Dey, Cabinet Division Coordination Secretary Sheikh Mujibur Rahman and Food Ministry Secretary Most Nazmanara Khanum, Additional Secretary Syed Mojibul Huq and Tech Mahindra Corporate Affairs President Sujit Baksi were also present on the occasion.

Addressing the function, Minister Tazul Islam said Bangabandhu had dreamt for building Sonar Bangla. And it is our constant courage. Our young people will go ahead with innovative thinking to materialise the dream of Bangabandhu.

“Young people will build a beautiful Bangladesh in the future,” he added.

ICT State Minister Zunaid Ahmed Palak said the government has been working together with industry and academia to provide policy and legal support to innovators to make idea scalable.

Earlier on Friday, Additional Secretary Syed Mojibul Huq inaugurated the National Hackathon on Frontier Technologies while Tech Mahindra Global Innovation Head Nikhil Malhotra was special guest on the occasion.

Innovation Design and Entrepreneurship Academy (iDEA) project under ICT Division is working on creating startup ecosystem in the country.

IDEA project director Additional Secretary Syed Mojibul Huq mentioned hackathon winners will get necessary mentoring and grooming through Startup Bangladesh and the project.

The top ten winners are: Team Anton, Shout#2, Trojan, Originative, Brogrammers, Lambda, Ruet Abacus, Team Cygnus, Xander and Buet Scammers.

Officials informed that 51 teams are participating from 349 shortlisted innovative solutions from all the applications across the country.