Nabi to captain Rangpur in BBPL


2nd December, 2019 06:07:15 printer

Nabi to captain Rangpur in BBPL

Former Afghanistan captain Mohammed Nabi will lead Rangpur Rangers in the upcoming Bangabandhu Bangladesh Premier League (BBPL), according to the team’s Facebook page.

Nabi who retired from Test cricket after Afghanistan’s one-off Test match against Bangladesh, now has been playing just white-ball cricket for the country. Basically he concentrates mostly on playing franchise-based cricket around the world.

Though Nabi has been a regular name in BPL, he has never lead any side in the Bangladesh’s lone franchise-based T20 tournament. Therefore this will be the first time that he will lead any side in this tournament.

The Rangpur Rangers formed a team with relatively young players and so Nabi’s experience will be key in the side’s success.

Rangers are also in talks with Ahmed Shehzad to play for them after Shai hope’s non-availability for the tournament

The teams of BBPL however started to pick their leaders for respective side that began after Dhaka Platoon made Bangladesh’s ODI skipper Mashrafe Bin Mortaza as their captain.

Rangpur Rangers Squad: Mustafizur Rahman, Mohammad Naim, Arafat Sunny, Jahurul Islam, Mohammad Nabi, Shai Hope, Taskin Ahmed, Zakir Hasan, Fazle Mahmud, Nadif Chowdhury, Rishad Hossain, Lewis Gregory, Cameron Delport, Sanjit Saha.