BFF name 23-member squad for Bangabandhu International Gold Cup


27th September, 2018 10:32:06 printer

BFF name 23-member squad for Bangabandhu International Gold Cup

Bangladesh Football Federation (BFF) on Thursday announced a 23-member national team squad for the Bangabandhu International Gold Cup Football tournament scheduled to be held from October 1 to 12 at three separate venues across the country.


The national football team will head for Sylhet tomorrow (Friday) under the leadership of National football team manager Satyajit Das Rupu to play their opening match of the tournament against Laos scheduled to be held on October 1 at Sylhet district stadium.


It would be the fifth edition of the most coveted competition while this time BFF is going to organise the tournament after one year interval when the fourth edition was held in 2016. The group stage matches will be held in Sylhet, while the two semifinals are slated in Cox’s Bazar and the final will take place at Bangabandhu National Stadium on October 12.


 Apart from hosts Bangladesh, Palestine, Philippines, Laos, Nepal and Tajikistan will compete in the prestigious international tournament. Nepal, Philippines and Philistine have agreed to send their national teams in the tournament.


Bangladesh has been drawn in Group B of the 6-nation tournament along with Laos and Philippines whereas Nepal, Palestine and Tajikistan have been pitted in Group A. 23-member final squad: Ashraful Islam Rana, Anisur Rahman, Rasel Mahmud, Bishwanath Ghosh, Tutul Hosain Badsha, Topu Barman, M Waly Faisal, Rahmat Mia, Yeasin khan, Mamunul Islam Mamun, Mohammad Atiqur Rahman Fahad, Jamal Bhuiyan, Masuk Miah Zoni Biplo Ahamed, M Emon Mahmud, Mohammad Rabiul Hasan, Jafar Iqbal, Mohammad Ibrahim, Mahbubur Rahman, Mohammad Nabib Newaz Ziban, Tawhidul Alam Sabuz, M Matin Miah and Mohammad Jabed Khan.