Parliament passes Supplementary Budget


11th June, 2018 03:25:38 printer

Parliament passes Supplementary Budget

Parliament on Tuesday passed the supplementary budget of Tk 15339.83 crore for the fiscal 2017-18 to meet the increased expenditures under different ministries and divisions.


Finance Minister AMA Muhith placed the supplementary budget in the House on June 7 along with the national budget.


Different ministries, divisions and institutions sought the additional amount under 22 demands for grant. As many as 173 cut-motions were moved by seven members.


Discussions were held on four cut-motions, including Public Administration Ministry, LGRD and Cooperatives Ministry, Power Ministry and Health Ministry.


These cut motions were brought by Jatiya Party MPs Fakhrul Imam (Mymensingh-8), Nurul Islam Omar (Bogra-6), Kazi Firoz Rashid (Dhaka-6), Nurul Islam Milon (Comilla-8), Rowshan Ara Mannan (Women Seat-47), Salim Uddin (Sylhet-5), Mohammad Abdul Munim Chowdhury (Habiganj-1) and Independent MP Rustam Ali Farazi (Pirojpur-3).


However, the cut-motions were rejected by voice vote.


According to the budget document, a sum of Tk 400,266 crore was allocated in favour of 62 ministries and divisions for the 2017-18 fiscal.


But in the supplementary budget allocation for 24 ministries and divisions have been increased to Tk 15,339.83 crore while Tk 46,055.66 crore reduced for 35 ministries and divisions.


As a result, the budget allocation for these ministries and divisions was reduced to Tk 28,771 crore and the total allocation now stands at Tk 371,495 crore.


The Power Division got the highest allocation of Tk 3926.11 crore while the lowest Tk 3.13 crore was given to the Supreme Court.



The Prime Minister’s Office got Tk 3347.41 crore, while Public Administration Minister Tk 471.96 crore, Public Service Commission  Tk 5.54 crore, Economic relations Division Tk 1162.42 crore, IMED 11.83 crore, Statistics and Information Management Division Tk 50.91 crore, Foreign Ministry Tk 28.60 crore, Defence Ministry Tk 659.93 crore, Law and Judiciary Division 56.33 crore, Public Security Division Tk 1109.11 crore, Legislative and Parliamentary Affairs Division got Tk 4.01 crore, Women and Child Affairs Ministry Tk 57.34 crore, Housing and Public Works Ministry Tk 49.80 crore, Religious Affairs Ministry Tk 315.78 crore, Local Government Division Tk 1868.60 crore, Rural Development and Cooperative Division Tk 311.51 crore, Land Ministry Tk 91.66 crore, Water Resources Ministry Tk 195.46 crore, Road Transport and Highways Division Tk 1182.64 crore, Shipping Ministry Tk 173.77 crore, CHT Affairs Ministry Tk 93.23 crore and Health Education and Family Welfare Division Tk 162.61 crore.