Monday, 2 October, 2023

FBCCI Biennial Election

Scrutiny of candidates begins

  • Staff Correspondent
  • 13 July, 2023 12:00 AM
  • Print news

Federation of Bangladesh Chambers of Commerce and Industry (FBCCI) started scrutinising the list of candidates for its biennial election on the basis of reports of Bangladesh Bank and National Board of Revenue (NBR).

During this scrutiny, nomination papers of 32 candidates were not accepted due to non-clearance from the central bank and the revenue authorities.

Of them, 22 candidates are from associations and 10 from chambers were not accepted, according to a letter obtained by the Daily Sun.

Sources at the FBCCI said that the aspirants have been given a chance to resubmit nomination papers after clearing issues within July 18.

The Election Board of FBCCI took the decision on Tuesday following the central bank report.

From the Association group, Shafiqul Islam Vorosha, Mohammad Khorshed Alam, Khandaker Ruhul Amin, Abul Hossain, KM Akhtaruzzaman, Md Ali Hossain Shishir, Mohammad Riyadh Ali, Mohammad Fayazur Rahman Bhuiyan, and Mohammad Nizam Uddin have been reported as loan defaulter.

Besides, some other nomination papers were not accepted due to the tax report. They include Syed Sadat Almas Kabir, Mohammed Monsur, Shahab Uddin Khan, Khandaker Ruhul Amin, Nizamuddin Rajesh, Haji Md Abul Hashem, Serajul Islam, Rakibul Alam, Salma Hossain Ash, Md Jakir Hossain, Taher Ahmed Siddiqui, Nazrul Islam Majumder, Mohammad Abul Basher, Khondakar Enayet Ullah, Habib Ullah Dawn, Hasina Newaz, Md Shah Jalal, Mohabbat Ullah, Abul Kashem Khan, Samiul Haque Safa and Sujib Ranjan Das.

Nomination papers of two other candidates were deferred as they would need a clarification from the NBR. They are Abdul Haque and Enayet Ullah Siddiqui.

The valid nomination papers were submitted by 58 candidates (according to list. They include Kausar Ahmed, Mirza Mohammad Zahid Hossain, Mohammad Nizam Uddin Jitu, Mantasha Ahmed, Omor Faruk, Alauddin Malik, Raqiub

Md Fakhrul, Niaz Ali Chisty, Golam Murshed, Shaheen Ahmed, MA Momen, Nadia Binte Amin, Akkash Mahmood, Abu Motaleb, Abu Hossain Bhuiyan (Ranu), Md Mahbub Alam, Md Aslam Serniabath, Mohmmad Babul Akther, Rashadul Hossain Chowdhury (Ronni), Kazi Ertaza Hassan, Md Halal Uddin, Hafez Hazi Harunur Rashid, Md Jamal Uddin, Md Mahfuzur Rahman Khan , Anowar Hossain Mridha, Sattar Khan, Shomi Kaiser, Anwar Hossain, MGR Nasir Majumder, Amzad Hussain, Amin Helaly, Rabbani Jabbar, Eazaz Mohammed, Mir Nizam Uddin Ahmed, Muntakim Ashraf, Zahurul Islam, Sheikh Ahmed Ullah, Zahir Hossain Rony, Md Rabiul Haque Badsha, Maruf Ahmed, BM Shoeb, Tapan Kumar Majumder , Mohammad Iqbal Mahmood, Sayed Md Bakhtiar, Hafez Hazi Mohammed Enayet Ullah, Mohammed Aftab Jabed, Mostafa Al Mahmud, Dr Mahbub Hafiz, Md Amir Hossain Noorani, Mohd Ishaqul Hossain Sweet, Md Ismail Karim Chowdhury, Saifur Rahman, Shahidul Haque Molla, Md Lokman Hossain Akash, Kazi Showeb Rashid, Faisal Hossain, Abu Sadeq and  Shovonota Ahmed.

FBCCI is expecting a competitive election of its board after four years as general body members get back their voting rights. The election is scheduled to be held on July 31.