Saturday, 30 September, 2023

Bangladesh finalise SAFF squad

  • Sports Correspondent
  • 10 June, 2023 12:00 AM
  • Print news
Bangladesh finalise SAFF squad
Bangladesh captain Jamal Bhuyan (right) and head coach Javier Cabrera are seen during a press conference at the BFF House in Motijheel on Friday. –BFF PHOTO

Popular News

Bangladesh head coach Javier Cabrera on Friday announced a final 23-member national football team squad for the upcoming FIFA friendly match in Cambodia as well as the 14th SAFF Championship in India.

Seven footballers out of the 30-member preliminary squad couldn’t get a place in the final squad.

The players are - goalkeeper Mehedi Hasan Srabon, defenders Rimon Hossain and Tutul Hossain Badsha, midfielder Masuk Mia Zoni and forwards Eleta Kingsley, Sahariar Emon and Sazzad Hossen. Rimon and Tutul weren’t picked due to their injuries.

“Each of 30 players deserved to be in the 23-member list. Everyone gave their best in the training sessions and it was very difficult to make the decision. We believe this is the best team for us in SAFF,” Cabrera said during a press conference.

Captain Jamal Bhuyan, team manager Amer Khan and BFF’s Acting General Secretary Imran Hossain Tushar were also present at the BFF House when the team was announced.

“Every footballer wants something like a SAFF Championship in their CVs. I also want the same and I think every player in the squad wants the same,” said Jamal.

Bangladesh team will leave Dhaka for Phnom Penh, Cambodia today to play a FIFA friendly match against Cambodia on June 15. Before that game, Bangladesh will play a practice match against Tiffy Army FC on June 12.

The men in red and green will then fly for Bengaluru, India from Cambodia on June 16 to compete in the upcoming SAFF.

Cabrera’s men will play in the four-team Group B and they will face Lebanon on June 22 before they take on Maldives and Bhutan on June 25 and 28 respectively.

Meanwhile, defenders Bishwanath Ghosh, Isa Faysal and team leader Showkat Ali Khan didn’t get their passports back from the High Commission of India and they are likely to fly to Cambodia on Sunday.

Bangladesh squad: Goalkeepers: Anisur Rahman Zico, Sahidul Alam and Mitul Marma; Defenders: Topu Barman, Bishwanath Ghosh, Tariq Kazi, Alomgir Molla, Rahmat Mia, Mehedi Hasan and Isa Faysal; Midfielders: Sohel Rana, Shekh Morsalin, Md Ridoy, Sohel Rana, Jamal Bhuyan, Mojibor Rahman and Rabiul Hasan; Forwards: Rakib Hossain, Suman Reza, Foysal Ahmed Fahim, Mohammad Ibrahim, Rafiqul Islam and Aminur Rahman.