Tuesday, 3 October, 2023

BFF shortlists squad for SAFF camp

  • Sports Correspondent
  • 4 June, 2023 12:00 AM
  • Print news

The Bangladesh Football Federation on Saturday announced a 30-member squad for their upcoming one-week residential camp before the FIFA friendly against Cambodia and the 14th SAFF Championship.

The BFF earlier announced a 35-member preliminary squad and five players from that squad couldn’t get a place in the camp, scheduled to be held on June 4-10.

Yeasin Arafat of Bashundhara Kings, Hemonta Vincent Biswas of Sheikh Russel Krira Chakra Ltd, Mahadi Hasan Royel of Abahani Limited Dhaka, Md Abu Shaeid of Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club Ltd and Murad Hasan of Mohammedan Sporting Club are the excluded players.

The preparation camp was supposed to be held with 27 to 28 footballers but Bangladesh head coach Javier Cabrera included a few extra players amid injury concerns. 

The BFF didn’t mention the criteria of selecting the players but Cabrera earlier told the reporters that the players would be selected for the camp based on their performances in the ongoing domestic competitions.

The selected players are told to report to team manager Amer Khan today at 06:00pm (BST) at a city hotel in the capital while the on-field session will start tomorrow at the Bashundhara Kings Arena.

The men in red and green will play the away friendly match against Cambodia on June 15 before they take part in the SAFF Championship at the Sree Kanteerava Stadium in Bengaluru, India from June 21 to July 4.

Bangladesh will start their Group B campaign against Lebanon on June 22 before they face Maldives and Bhutan on June 25 and 28 respectively.

Bangladesh squad: Goalkeepers - Anisur Rahman Zico, Md Sahidul Alam, Mitul Marma, Md Mehdi Hasan Srabon; Defenders - Topu Barman, Bishwanath Ghosh, Md Rimon Hossain, Md Tutul Hosain Badsha, Tariq Raihan Kazi, Alomgir Molla, Md Rahmat Mia, Mehedi Hasan, Md Isa Faysal; Midfielders - Sohel Rana, Masuk Mia Zoni, Shekh Morsalin, Md Ridoy, Sohel Rana, Jamal Bhuyan, Md Mojibor Rahman Jony, Mohammad Rabiul Hasan; Forwards - Rakib Hossain, Md Suman Reza, Eleta Kingsley Oshiokha, Md Foysal Ahmed Fahim, Mohammad Ibrahim, Md Sahariar Emon, Md Rafiqul Islam, Md Aminur Rahman Sojib and Sazzad Hossen.