Friday, 29 September, 2023

8 to die for killing BCL leader in Lakshmipur

A Lakshmipur court on Monday sentenced eight people to death in a case filed over the murder of Chhatra League leader Mehedi Hasan Jashim.            

Additional District and Sessions Judge Amina Farhin handed down the verdict.

The condemned convicts are Ali Hossain Bachchu, 43, Mubarak Ulla, 61, Md Mostafa, 43, Md Khokon, 48, Abul Hossain, 68, Kabir Hossain Ripon, 26, Zafar Ahmad, 61, and Hizbur Rahman Swapan, 40.

Seven of the convicts were present in the court while Hizbur Rahman Swapan remains a fugitive.

Victim Mehedi Hasan Jashim, son of Mofiz Ulla of Shrirampur village in Dattapara union of Sadar upazila, was the literature affairs secretary of the Kofil Uddin Degree College unit of Chhatra League.

According to the case statement, Mofiz had longstanding enmity with Mubarak and Bachchu over a piece of land.  

As a consequence of the enmity, Mubarak and his supporters beat up Mofiz and his family members on January 7, 2013. Later, a case was filed at the local police station in this regard. 

On February 10 in the same year, Jashim went to his relative’s house in Radhapur village and stayed there. The accused entered the house by breaking the window at night, shot Jasim and fled the scene, leaving him seriously injured.

Jasim was rushed to Lakshmipur Sadar Hospital where doctors declared him dead. A murder case was filed at Sadar police station next day, following a complaint lodged by Jashim’s father.

Later, police submitted a charge sheet against 12 accused in this case while four of the accused have died.