Monday, 2 October, 2023

Abahani, Sk Jamal, Prime Bank finish DPL league stage winning note

  • Sports Correspondent
  • 17 April, 2023 12:00 AM
  • Print news
Abahani, Sk Jamal, Prime Bank finish DPL league stage winning note
Prime Bank Cricket Club all-rounder Nasir Hossain plays a shot during a Dhaka Premier Division Cricket League match against Agrani Bank Cricket Club at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur on Sunday. – TANVIN TAMIM

Abahani Limited, Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club Limited and Prime Bank Cricket Club won their respective last league stage matches of the ongoing Dhaka Premier Division Cricket League 2022-23 on Sunday.

Abahani defeated City Club by five wickets at the BKSP-4 ground in Savar while Sheikh Jamal beat Legends of Rupganj by eight wickets at the BKSP-3 ground and Prime Bank handed Agrani Bank Cricket Club a six-wicket defeat at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur.

At the BKSP-4, Najmul Hossain Shanto starred with the bat as he struck an unbeaten 102 off 112 balls - his seventh List A hundred - as Abahani reached 174-5 in 35.1 overs to complete their 10th win in the ongoing tournament.

The win also confirmed Abahani finishing the league stage on top with 20 points from 11 matches.

Earlier, leg-spinner Rishad Hossain claimed 4-29 while Mosaddek Hossain and Tanvir Islam took two wickets each as Abahani bowled City Club all out for 172 runs in 39.2 overs after their opponents opted to bat first.

City Club opener Tawfiq Khan Tushar struck the highest 79 off 51 balls with seven fours and six sixes.

Meanwhile, Sheikh Jamal’s Indian recruit Parvez Rasool claimed 3-29 while Shafiqul Islam and Arif Ahmed took two wickets each as they bowled Rupganj all out for 162 runs in 45.1 overs after they decided to bowl first.

Irfan Shukkur top scored with 53 runs for Rupganj.

Sheikh Jamal openers – Saif Hassan (78) and Robiul Islam Robi (58) then struck fifties and shared a 141-run stand to help their side reach 168-2 in 28.1 overs to finish the league phase with 20 points.

In Mirpur, Nasir Hossain struck a brilliant 112 off 98 balls while Mohammad Mithun made 50 runs as Prime Bank reached 277-4 in 46.4 overs to clinch their seventh win in the tournament.

Earlier, Shadman Islam (62), Jahurul Islam (58) and Usman Khan (53) all struck fifties as Agrani Bank posted 273-4 in their 50 overs after being sent into bat first.

Agrani Bank will now play in the relegation league matches alongside Shinepukur Cricket Club and Dhaka Leopards.