Sunday, 4 June, 2023

Mashrafe shines as Rupganj thrash Mohammedan

Sk Jamal make it five in a row; Prime Bank suffer first defeat

  • Sports Correspondent
  • 28 March, 2023 12:00 AM
  • Print news

Mashrafe bin Mortaza claimed his seventh five-wicket haul in List A career and led Legends of Rupganj to a massive 10-wicket win over Mohammedan Sporting Club Limited during their fifth match of the ongoing Dhaka Premier Division Cricket League 2022-23 at the BKSP-3 ground in Savar on Monday.

Mashrafe finished with 5-17 in 8.4 overs and also became the first Bangladeshi bowler to take 450 wickets in List A cricket as the Rupganj side bowled Mohammedan all out for just 80 runs in 22.4 overs after they decided to bowl first. 

Soumya Sarkar made the highest 41 off 26 balls for Mohammedan while skipper Imrul Kayes (11) was the only other batsman to score in the double-digit.

Rupganj openers – Parvez Hossain Emon (44 not out) and Muim Shahriar (30 not out) then demonstrated a blistering batting display to help their side reach 84-0 in just 8.2 overs to complete their fifth successive win in the tournament.

It was, however, Mohammedan’s fourth defeat in five matches and they are currently placed at 10th in the 12-team points table with just one point.

Meanwhile, defending champions Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club Limited also continued their unbeaten run in the ongoing tournament as they beat Shinepukur Cricket Club by 55 runs to stretch their winning streak to five at the BKSP-4 ground.

Riding on an unbeaten 91 off 108 balls by Fazle Mahmud Rabbi, Sheikh Jamal posted 196-9 in their 50 overs after they were sent into bat first. Mehedi Hasan Rana claimed 3-31 for Shinepukur.

Shinepukur batters, in reply, lost wickets at regular intervals and were unable to put up any decent partnership as they bowled out for 141 runs in 41.5 overs to suffer their fourth defeat in five matches.

Ebadot Hossain, Arif Ahmed, Parvez Rasool and Mrittunjoy Chowdhury all took two wickets each for Sheikh Jamal.

In the day’s other match, Prime Bank Cricket Club suffered their first defeat in the ongoing meet when they lost to Gazi Group Cricketers by five wickets in Fatullah.

Nihad Uz Zaman claimed 3-36 while Anamul Haque, Husna Habib Mehedi and Qazi Onik all took two wickets each as Gazi Group bowled Prime Bank all out for 204 runs in 46.4 overs after they elected to bowl first.

Mushfiqur Rahim made the highest 74 runs while Yasir Ali scored 48 runs.

Gazi Group’s Indian recruit Ravi Teja then struck 101 off 92 balls with five fours and as many sixes while Mahmudul Hasan scored 45 runs as they reached 208-5 in 39.2 overs to clinch their second win in the tournament. Prime Bank’s Taijul Islam finished with 3-36.

Meanwhile in today’s matches, Abahani Limited will take on Rupganj Tigers Cricket Club in Fatullah while Brothers Union Limited will face Agrani Bank Cricket Club and City Club will lock horns against Dhaka Leopards – both at the BKSP venues.