Saturday, 25 March, 2023

DPL starts on Mar 15

  • Sports Correspondent
  • 19 February, 2023 12:00 AM
  • Print news
DPL starts on Mar 15
CCDM Chairman Salahuddin Chowdhury speaks to reporters after a meeting in Mirpur on Saturday. —BCB PHOTO

The upcoming edition of Dhaka Premier League, the 50-over club-based tournament, will get underway on March 15.

The decision was taken during a Cricket Committee of Dhaka Metropolis meeting held at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur on Saturday.

Initially, the tournament matches will be held at two venues of BKSP and Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium while later, some of the matches will be played at the Khan Shaheb Osman Ali Stadium in Fatullah when the national side will be busy with the Ireland series.

However, after the completion of the lone Test match between Bangladesh and Ireland, the Mirpur venue will be further used for hosting the remaining DPL matches alongside BKSP venues.

As the big part of the tournament will be held during Ramadan time, all the matches will start at 09:30am (BST) – 30 minutes later than the previously scheduled time.

Apart from providing prize money for the champions and runners-up teams, the CCDM also introduces three more awards this year – player of the tournament, highest run-getter and higher wicket-taker – and they will also give TK two lakh to each of the awardees.

Each man of the match award winner will also receive TK 10 thousand as prize money while the CCDM also increases the dress allowance and transport allowance for this year.

“We called all the clubs for a meeting. We discussed the dates and venues with them regarding the tournament,” CCDM Chairman Salahuddin Chowdhury told reporters after the meeting.

“We have talked about sporting wickets. Hopefully, we will get the same type of wicket. We want to make the tournament a competitive one,” he added. The league stage of the DPL is expected to end before Eid-ul-Fitr while the super league will be played after the Eid break.

Teams can register an unlimited number of foreign cricketers for the tournament but only one player will be allowed to represent the team during a match of the competition.