Thursday, 23 March, 2023

6 newly-elected MPs take oath

Six newly-elected Members of Parliament (MPs) took oath at the Jatiya Sangsad Bhaban on Wednesday, reports UNB.

Hafiz Uddin Ahmed (Jatiya Party) from Thakurgaon-3, AKM Rezaul Karim Tansen (JSD) from Bogura-4, Ragebul Ahsan (Awami League) from Bogura-6, Md Ziaur Rahman (AL) from Chapainawabganj-2, Md Abdul Wadud (AL) from Chapainawabganj-3 and Abdus Sattar Bhuiyan (independent) from Brahmanbaria-2 were elected in by-polls held on February 1.

Speaker Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury administered the oath-taking ceremony at the Jatiya Sangsad, according to a press release from the Parliament Secretariat.

KM Abdus Salam, secretary of the Parliament Secretariat, conducted the oath-taking ceremony.

Chief Whip of Parliament Noor-e-Alam Chowdhury and Whip Iqbalur Rahim were present om the occasion.

Finally, the MPs signed the oath book as per custom.