Friday, 24 March, 2023

BFF announces squad for SAFF U-20 Women’s C’ship

  • Sports Correspondent
  • 30 January, 2023 12:00 AM
  • Print news
BFF announces squad for SAFF U-20 Women’s C’ship

Bangladesh Football Federation on Sunday announced a 37-member squad for the upcoming SAFF U-20 Women’s Championship beginning on February 3 at the Bir Shrestha Shaheed Sepoy Mostafa Kamal Stadium in Kamalapur in the capital.

The federation included 14 officials along with 23 players in the squad – two team leaders, team manager, two assistant team leaders, technical director, head coach, three assistant coaches, goalkeeping coach, media officer, physiotherapist and fitness trainer.

Two forwards -- Airin Khatun and Afroja Khatun got the maiden call based on their performances in the last Women’s Football League. Airin played for Nasrin Sports Academy and Afroja for Jamalpur Kacharipara Akados.

Six players were also added from the last year’s SAFF winning team -- three goalkeepers Rupna Chakma, Etie Rani and Sathi Biswas and three midfielders -- Shamsunnahar Jr, Sapna Rani and Sohagi Kisku.

Shamsunnahar will lead the team while Rupna will be her deputy. The details were disclosed in a press conference at the BFF house in Motijheel.

Bangladesh earlier clinched the title two times in this age-level competition for women – SAFF U-18s in 2018 and SAFF U-19s in 2021. The competition will be held at the U-20s level this year.

A total of four teams will compete in the meet – India, Bhutan, Nepal and the hosts Bangladesh. The top two teams will play in the final from the round-robin group stage. Bangladesh will play against Nepal, India and Bhutan on February 3, 5 and 7 in the group stage while the final will be held on February 9.

Bangladesh squad:

Goalkeepers: Rupna (VC), Etie and Sathi; Defenders: Surma Jannat, Afeida Khandaker, Nasrin Akter, Kohati Kisku, Eity Khatun and Unnoti Khatun; Midfielders: Sapna, Sohagi, Mahfuza Khatun, Nouson Jahan, Miss Rupa, Rehena Akther, Shamsunnahar (C) and Halima Akther; Forwards: Shaheda Akter Ripa, Aklima Khatun, Aanika Tanjum, Airin, Afroja and Sauravi Akanda Prity.