Saturday, 1 April, 2023

Uncapped Shorna picked for Women’s T20 World Cup

  • Sports Correspondent
  • 22 January, 2023 12:00 AM
  • Print news
Uncapped Shorna picked for Women’s T20 World Cup

The Bangladesh Cricket Board on Saturday named uncapped Under-19 batter Shorna Akter in their 15-member squad for the upcoming ICC Women’s T20 World Cup, scheduled in South Africa.

Shorna will have three other Under-19 teammates - Disha Biswas, Marufa Akter, Dilara Akter - in the national dressing room though they were part of the national team during the tour of New Zealand.

The four cricketers are currently taking part in the inaugural edition of the ICC Women’s Under-19 World Cup in South Africa.

Women’s Selector Monjurul Islam said that they have picked these four cricketers on the back of their performance in the ongoing Under-19 World Cup.

“We formed the team thinking about the format and the format is T20 and we will be playing in South Africa. The Under-19 World Cup is currently being played in South Africa and after that our women’s national team will play the World Cup,” said Monjurul.

“There are a few young performers like Under-19 skipper Disha, Dilara, Shorna and Marufa and they are performing well there. They (three Under-19 players) have been with us during the tour of New Zealand and along with them we have included experienced campaigners as well. We have formed the team keeping the condition in mind.” he added.

Skipper Nigar Sultana Joty said that she is hopeful with the team to do well in the tournament.

“The team is well balanced and there are a lot of young talented cricketers in the squad. Along with them, there are a couple of experienced campaigners in the team as well so I’m hopeful with the team,” said Joty.

Sharmin Akhter Supta, Fargana Hoque Pinky, Fariha Trisna, Rabeya and Sanjida Akther Maghla, who were part of the squad that travelled to New Zealand, failed to retain their place while Shamima Sultana and Sobhana Mostary made a comeback into the team.

The team will leave Dhaka for Cape Town on January 23 for a pre-event practice camp and two practice matches against their Irish counterparts (on January 31 and February 2 respectively) prior to the commencement of the official support period for the World Cup.

The Tigresses will also play two warm-up matches against Pakistan in Cape Town on February 6 and India in Stellenbosch on February 8 before they kick off their World Cup campaign against Sri Lanka on February 12.

Bangladesh are in Group A alongside Sri Lanka, Australia, New Zealand and South Africa.

Bangladesh squad: Nigar Sultana Joty (capt), Marufa Akter, Dilara Akter, Fahima Khatun, Salma Khatun, Jahanara Alam, Shamima Sultana, Rumana Ahmed, Lata Mondol, Shorna Akter, Nahida Akter, Murshida Khatun, Ritu Moni, Disha Biswas and Sobhana Mostary.

Standby: Rabeya, Sanjida Akther Maghla, Fargana Hoque Pinky and Sharmin Akter Supta.