Sunday, 5 February, 2023

Kings beat Rahamatganj

  • Sports Correspondent
  • 1 January, 2023 12:00 AM
  • Print news

The three-time BPL champions Bashundhara Kings defeated Rahamatganj Muslim Friends Society by 2-0 goals in their third match of the ongoing Bangladesh Premier League 2022-23 at their home Bashundhara Kings Arena of the Bashundhara Sports Complex in the capital on Saturday.

Brazilian forward Dorielton Gomes Nascimento scored an opener (1-0) with a header, off a left-footer cross from his compatriot midfielder Miguel Figueira Damasceno in the 11th minute.

Then, Kings’ Brazilian captain Robson Robinho extended the lead (2-0) with a left-footed close range angular shot from the right flank of the box to the second bar in the 60th minute.

Before the match kicked off, both teams observed one minute of silence in memory of the Brazilian legend Pele, who died on Thursday aged 82.

In the day’s other two matches, Chattogram Abahoni and Mohammedan Sporting Club played a 2-2 draw at the Shaheed Dhirendranath Datta Stadium in Cumilla while Fortis Football Club beat Azampur Football Club Uttara by 1-0 goal at the Rafiq Uddin Bhuiyan Stadium in Mymensingh.

In Cumilla, Ctg Abahoni got an early blow while their goalkeeper Pappu Hossain got the marching order after conceding a straight red card in the 12th minute. The goalie touched the ball outside the box while trying to save a shot from Mohammedan’s Malian captain Souleymane Diabate.

However, Ctg Abahoni’s Nigerian forward Ojukwu David Ifegwu and Ivorian midfielder Yacouba Nambelesseny Bamba scored one goal each in the 29th and 45+3rd minutes while Mohammedan’s Diabate and midfielder Manik Hossain Molla equalised the margin scoring one each in the 31st and 59th minutes.

In Mymensingh, midfielder Shakhawat Hossain Rony netted the match-winner for Fortis FC in the 29th minute.

After the day’s matches, Kings dominated the top slot of the 11-team table with 9 points from three wins, followed by Sheikh Jamal DC and Dhaka Abahani who have earned 7 points from two wins and one draw each. 

Mohammedan are in the fourth with 5 points, Fortis FC are in the sixth with 4 points and Ctg Abahoni are in the eighth with one point. Rahamatganj remained ninth with their previous credit of one point while Azampur FC at the bottom and yet to open their account.