Sunday, 5 February, 2023

Tigers in big trouble after batting failure

  • Z. Azam from Chattogram
  • 16 December, 2022 12:00 AM
  • Print news
Tigers in big trouble after batting failure
Bangladesh’s Liton Das is clean bowled by India’s Mohammed Siraj during the second day of their first Test match at the Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium in Chattogram on Thursday. —AFP PHOTO

Bangladesh found them in all sorts of trouble in the opening Test against India as they finished the second day at 133-8 at the Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium in Chattogram on Thursday.

Bangladesh batters once again let the hosts down after the Tigers dismissed India for 404 runs in their first innings as none of the batsmen could make any meaningful contribution and are still trailing India by 271 runs.

Indian pacer Mohammed Siraj triggered the collapse in the Bangladesh innings as he took three early wickets to reduce the hosts to 56-4 before left-arm chinaman Kuldeep Yadav claimed 4-33 to force the hosts to struggle at 102-8.

Mehidy Hasan Miraz (16 not out) and Ebadot Hossain (13 not out) then put up an unbeaten 31-run stand for the ninth wicket to avoid more damage in the innings but it hardly could deny India from being in a strong position after the end of the second day’s play.

Resuming an overnight score of 278-6, Ebadot removed Shreyas Iyer (86) early on the day but Ravichandran Ashwin and Kuldeep shared a 92-run stand for the eighth wicket to give India the driving position in the game.

Ashwin completed his 13th Test fifty before he was finally dismissed by Mehidy after making 58 runs while Kuldeep followed him soon after making career-best 40 runs and he was trapped in front by Taijul Islam (4-133).

Mehidy (4-112) wrapped up the Indian innings when he dismissed Siraj (four) while Umesh Yadav remained not out on 15 off 10 balls.

Bangladesh lost opener Najmul Hossain Shanto (0) in the first ball of the innings to Siraj while Yasir Ali, who was promoted to number three, was bowled by Umesh after making four runs only.

Debutant Zakir Hasan along with Liton Das put up a 34-run stand for the third wicket before the latter was dismissed by Siraj after scoring 24 runs.

Zakir was soon dismissed by the same bowler as his debut innings ended on 20 runs while Shakib Al Hasan (three), Nurul Hasan Sohan (16), Mushfiqur Rahim (28) and Taijul Islam (0) all fell to Kuldeep to make Bangladesh’s situation even worse.