Thursday, 9 February, 2023

AAP secures big win in MCD polls

AAP secures big win in MCD polls

NEW DELHI: The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) on Thursday claimed an emphatic win over the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in the 2022 Municipal Corporation of Delhi (MCD) election, reports Hindustan Times.  

Exit polls had given chief minister Arvind Kejriwal's AAP - which controls the city government - a clear win and relegated the BJP - which controls the city civic body - to a distant second.

Initial trends suggested otherwise, with the BJP neck-and-neck and even ahead at times, but the AAP rallied and began steadily pulling ahead.

The final results were declared at 3.16 pm. The Delhi State Election Commission said the AAP had won 132 seats.

The BJP won 104, the Congress nine and independent candidates three.

The Delhi Municipal Corporation has 250 seats, or wards, after a (contentious) re-drawing of boundaries earlier this year removed 22 seats. The majority mark is set at 126.

The AAP's Aaley Mohammad Iqbal won the Chandi Mahal seat with the highest winning margin (recorded so far) - 17,134 votes. Another key win went to the AAP's Timsy Sharma, who claimed the Jahangirpuri ward in which there were communal riots in April.

Delhi witnessed a charged election campaign by the two leading parties, for whom top leaders - including union ministers and chief ministers of other states - went door-to-door to ask for votes and public support.

The BJP has governed the Delhi MCD since 2007 and the AAP has led the government since 2013. Historically the saffron party has enjoyed success in Delhi civic polls - even when beaten in the Assembly election.

This is the first election after wards were re-drawn and municipal corporations merged; there were 272 and three - the New Delhi, South Delhi and East Delhi bodies - from 2012 that were reduced to 250 and re-unified into one in May.

In 2017, the BJP won 181 of 270 wards for which voting was held, while the AAP won 48 and the Congress just 30.