Sunday, 26 March, 2023

Torture in Police Custody

Babul’s plea to sue PBI officials rejected

  • Staff Correspondent
  • 26 September, 2022 12:00 AM
  • Print news
Babul’s plea to sue PBI officials rejected

CHATTOGRAM: A court here on Sunday turned down the petition submitted by former SP Babul Akter for recording a case against six officials of Police Bureau of Investigation (PBI) over allegations of torturing him in their custody to extract confession in the case filed in connection with the murder of his wife.

Chattogram Metropolitan Session Judge Dr Zebunnesa Begum also rejected another plea from Babul seeking security of life, said the court’s Public Prosecutor (PP) Md Fakhruddin Chowdhury.

Babul, who is now put behind bars in the murder case, earlier made the appeals to the court.

Allegations of torturing the plaintiff in police custody for several times to get confession were made in the petition.

The defendants include PBI Chief Banaj Kumar Majumdar, PBI Chattogram district SP Nazmul Hasan, Chattogram Metropolitan SP Naima Sultana, the then PBI Inspector Santosh Kumar Chakma, PBI Chattogram district former Inspector AKM Mohiuddin Selim and PBI Inspector Kazi Enayet Kabir.

On the other hand, Babul also filed a petition seeking security of life and investigation into the alleged search of his room at Feni District Jail by Feni Model Police Station Officer-in-Charge (OC) Nizam Uddin. 

The complainant said after making allegations against six PBI officials, including its chief, the OC entered the jail on September 10 and carried out a search at the room of Babul at that time.

Mentionable, PBI submitted charge sheet accusing Babul and six others in the sensational case filed over killing his wife Mahmuda Khanam Mitu on September 13.

Investigation Officer (IO) Inspector Abu Zafar Mohammad Omar Faruk submitted the charge sheet to the court through prosecution department of the Chattogram Metropolitan Police (CMP).

The other accused in the charge sheet include Md Kamrul Islam Sikder Musa, Ehteshamul Hoque Bhola, Md Motaleb Mia alias Wasim, Md Anwar Hossain, Md Khairul Islam alias Kalu and Shahjahan Mian.

Of them, Musa and Kalu have absconded since the incident while Babul, Wasim, Shahjahan and Anwar are behind bars and Bhola is now freed on bail.