Friday, 7 October, 2022

Sylhet emerge hattrick champions in WNCL

  • Sports Correspondent
  • 28 August, 2022 12:00 AM
  • Print news
Sylhet emerge hattrick champions in WNCL

Popular News

Sylhet Division emerged hattrick champions in the Women’s National Cricket League after they beat Dhaka Division by 23 runs during the last round match of the ongoing edition at the Sylhet International Cricket Stadium in Sylhet on Saturday.

Sent into bat first, Sylhet team scored 104-4 in their stipulated overs after Ishma Tanjim made the highest 26 runs for her side.

In reply, Dhaka opener Fargana Hoque scored 52 off 63 balls but they lost wickets in regular intervals and were restricted to 81-9 in 20 overs.

Fahima Khatun finished with 3-10 while Ismot Jahan Emu took two wickets each for Sylhet.

With this victory, Sylhet confirmed the WNCL title on the last day of the tournament after earning 10 points from seven matches.

Barishal Division, which defeated Rangpur Division by seven runs on the same day at the Sylhet Academy Ground, finished second in the league with the same 10 points.

As both the teams finished with the same points, the champions were determined through net run-rate according to the tournament by-laws and Sylhet were announced as the winners for having a better net run-rate than Barishal.

Meanwhile, the day’s other two matches – Chattogram vs Khulna and Rajshahi vs Mymensingh – were abandoned due to rain.

Khulna finished third in the league with nine points while Rangpur finished fourth with eight points.

Rajshahi, Chattogram, Dhaka and Mymensingh finished in the next four places after earning seven, five, four and three points respectively.

Dhaka’s Fargana finished the league as the top scorer after scoring 316 runs while Barishal’s Lily Rani Biswas finished as the highest wicket-taker with 15 wickets.

This year, the competition was held in the T20 format in consideration of the format of the upcoming ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Qualifier and ACC Women’s T20 Asia Cup.