Saturday, 1 October, 2022

Chandimal, de Silva in Sri Lanka’s Asia Cup squad

Chandimal, de Silva in Sri Lanka’s Asia Cup squad

Sri Lanka on Saturday named a strong squad for the upcoming Asia Cup, commencing August 27 in UAE, reports ICC.

The squad will be led by their regular skipper Dasun Shanaka with Charith Asalanka as his deputy. Sri Lanka will begin their Asia Cup campaign against Afghanistan on the opening day of the tournament at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium in Dubai.

Notable inclusion in the squad is Ashen Bandara, who last represented Sri Lanka in July 2021 in a T20I against India.  Also returning to the T20I mix are the experienced duo of Dinesh Chandimal and Dhananjaya de Silva, and Jeffrey Vandersay, all of whom missed Sri Lanka's last T20I series against Australia at home in June which the visitors won by a 2-1 margin.

Sri Lanka squad: Dasun Shanaka (capt), Danushka Gunathilaka, Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Mendis, Charith Asalanka, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Ashen Bandara, Dhananjaya de Silva, Wanindu Hasaranga, Maheesh Theekshana, Jeffrey Vandersay, Praveen Jayawickrama, Chamika Karunaratne, Dilshan Madushanka, Matheesha Pathirana, Nuwanidu Fernando, Dushmantha Chameera and Dinesh Chandimal.