Friday, 30 September, 2022

Amir, Nurul, Ajit win JU VC panel polls

Amir, Nurul, Ajit win JU VC panel polls

Prof Amir Hussain, Prof Nurul Alam and Prof Ajit Kumar Majumdar have won the VC Panel election held at Jahangirnagar University on Friday.

The voting began at 4 pm at a special Senate session at Senate hall.

JU Acting Vice-Chancellor Prof Nurul Alam chaired the session while Registrar Rahima Kaneez conducted the polls as election commissioner.

A total of 76 senators cast their voting rights.

Prof Amir Hossain became the first by getting maximum 48 votes, Prof Nurul Alam took 2nd place by getting 46 votes and Prof Ajit Kumar Mazumder took 3rd place by getting 32 votes.

The others candidates Prof Sufi Mostafizur Rahman, Prof Abdullah Hel Kafi, Prof Laek Sazzad Andallah, Prof Prithila Najnin Nelema and Prof Tapan kumar Saha got 23, 20, 19, 15 and 7 votes respectively.

Earlier, Pro-Awami League teachers have announced three panels to contest the election while ‘Bangabandhu Shikkok Parishad’ announced two separate panels.

Led by JU VC Prof Nurul Alam, also the dean of Physical and Mathematical Sciences Faculty, Prof Ajit Kumar Majumdar and President of JU Teachers' Association Prof Dr Laek Sazzad Andallah formed the VC backed panel under the banner of 'Bangabandhu Shikkok Parishad'. Led by former JU Pro-VC Prof Amir Hussain, Archeologist Prof Sufi Mostafizur Rahman of JU Archeology Department and Prof Dr Prithila Najnin Nelema of JU Bangla Department formed another panel under the banner of ‘Bangabandhur Adorsho o Muktijudder Chetonai Bishwasi Progotishil Shikkok Somaj’.

Besides, General Secretary of JU Teachers’ Association Prof Md Motaher Hossain, President of Provost Standing Committee Prof Abdullah Hel Kafi of International Relations Department and Prof Tapan Kumar Saha of Chemistry Department declared the another panel under the banner of ‘Bangabandhu Shikkok Parishad’.

Later, during the Senate session, Professor Motaher Hossain withdrew his candidature.

On July 27, JU authorities decided to hold the panel election to nominate a three-member panel for appointing the next vice-chancellor (VC) from the group.