Tuesday, 27 September, 2022

‘Srabon Tragedy’ at BSA today

‘Srabon Tragedy’ at BSA today

Popular News

Popular theatre troupe Mohakal Natya Sampraday will stage its much-acclaimed production ‘Srabon Tragedy’ at the main auditorium of National Theatre Hall of Bangladesh Shilpakala Academy (BSA) this evening. 

Prior to the staging of the drama, a discussion titled ‘Pran Horon Kora Jai, Chetona Noy’ will be held at 05:30pm, marking the 47th martyrdom anniversary of Father of the Nation Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman. 

Railways Minister Nurul Islam Sujan will attend the programme as the chief guest while ex-additional DIG of police in the Criminal Investigation Department Abdul Kahar Akond will be the main discussant.   

Sommilito Sangskritik Jote’s President Golam Kuddus, Sonali Bank Limited Managing Director Ataur Rahman Prodhan, Mohakal Natya Sampraday’s advisors Saila Farzana and Dr. Md. Zakerul Abedin will grace the occasion as the special guests with Mohakal Natya Sampraday’s ex-president and Bangladesh Awami League’s Organising Secretary Advocate Afzal Hossain in the chair.

Mohakal Natya Sampraday’s President Mir Zahid Hassan will deliver wellcome speech at the programme.

The play ‘Srabon Tragedy’ is based on the tragic assassination of  Father of the Nation Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman.

Dhaka University’s Theatre and Performance Studies Department’s Assistant Professor Ashiq Rahman Leon has directed the play while Jahangirnagar University’s Drama and Dramatics Department’s Associate Professor Anan Zaman wrote it.

The cast of the drama includes Kabir Ahmed, Faruk Ahmed Sentu, Md. Shah Newaz, Monirul Alam Kajol, Poly Biswas, Samiul Jibon, Rajib Hossain, Shibli Sarker, Rifat Hossain Juwel,  Shahriar Hossain Polin, Tareq, Ahaduzzaman Kolince, Sumaya, Arafat, Shapnil, Piyashi Jahan, Tarif, Rony, Redowan, Siam Rabbi, Zunaed, Maya, Rafi, Iqbal, Mir Nahid and Mir Zahid Hasan.

To note:  The drama was patronised by the Ministry of Cultural Affairs and different government and non-government organisations to pay tribute to the Father of the Nation.