Tuesday, 16 August, 2022

Uttar Baridhara relegated; Muktijoddha confirm next edition of BPL

  • Sports Correspondent
  • 1 August, 2022 12:00 AM
  • Print news
Uttar Baridhara relegated; Muktijoddha confirm next edition of BPL
Dhaka Abahani players and officials celebrate with the Bangladesh Premier League runners-up trophy at the Bir Flight Lieutenant Matiur Rahman Stadium in Munshiganj on Sunday. – BFF Photo

Uttar Baridhara Club joined Swadhinata Krira Sangha in the relegation march of the top tier domestic league while Muktijoddha Sangsad Krira Chakra confirmed their participation in the next edition of Bangladesh Premier League.

 Both Uttar Baridhara and Muktijoddha were facing the relegation threats before their respective BPL matches on Sunday. Uttar Baridhara were 11th with 14 points and Muktijoddha SKC were 10th with 16 in the ongoing points table. 

Uttar Baridhara conceded a 2-5 goals defeat to the runners-up Dhaka Abahani Ltd at the Sheikh Fazlul Haque Mani Stadium in Gopalganj while Muktijoddha surprisingly beat the third-placed Saif Sporting Club by 3-2 goals at the Bir Flight Lieutenant Matiur Rahman Stadium in Munshiganj, both on this day.

After the day's matches, Muktijoddha extended their point difference with Uttar Baridhara to 5 which helped them to earn a spot for the next season. Muktijoddha climbed up to the 9th slot with 19 points from 5 wins, 4 draws and 13 defeats while Uttar Baridhara remained 11th with their previous credit of 14 points from 3 wins, 5 draws and 14 defeats.

In Gopalganj, Muktijoddha's Japanese forward Tetsuaki Misawa, Burundian midfielder Sudi Abdallah and midfielder Obaidur Rahman Nawab scored one each in the 45th, 46th and 50th minutes while Saif's Nigerian forward Mfon Udoh scored one in the 72nd minute and Muktijoddha's defender Sajon Mia scored a suicidal own goal in the 86th minute.

Saif got another blow while their Rwandan defender Emery Bayisenge got a marching after conceding the second yellow card just a few minutes before the final whistle.

In Munshiganj, Dhaka Abahani’s Brazilian forward Dorielton made his second hat-trick in BPL scoring four goals in the 18th, 22th, 40th, 73rd minute and Brazilian midfielder Raphael Augusto added one in the 58th minute.

Uttar Baridhara’s midfielder Maruf Ahamed and Uzbek defender Saiddoston Fozilov scored one each to reduce the gap in the 48th and 82nd minutes.

The runners-up Dhaka Abahani ended the league with 47 points from 14 wins, 5 draws and 3 defeats while the third-placed Saif SC with 37 points from 11 wins, 4 draws and 7 defeats. Dhaka Abahani were awarded with the runners-up trophy and medals after the day’s match. 

Meanwhile, Chattogram Abahoni will take on Bangladesh Police Football Club in a place-deciding match today at the Shaheed Dhirendranath Stadium in Cumilla at 4:00pm.