Tuesday, 30 May, 2023

Hasina’s Motorcade Attack Case

HC rejects bail of 4 convicts

HC rejects bail of 4 convicts

Popular News

The High Court (HC) on Tuesday scrapped plea for bail filed by four people convicted and sentenced to different jail terms in a case lodged over the 2002 attack on the motorcade of the then opposition leader and incumbent Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina in Satkhira, reports BSS.

A High Court division bench comprising Justice ASM Abdul Mobin and Justice Md Atoar Rahman passed the order after holding a hearing on the matter. The court however, recorded their appeal against the lower court conviction in the case.

The four convicts are- Advocate Abdus Sattar, Yasin Ali, Tofajjal Hossain and Mahfuzur Rahman.

Satkhira Chief Judicial Magistrate Court on February 4, 2021, convicted and sentenced three people including former lawmaker Habibul Islam Habib to 10-year imprisonment in the case.

The court also sentenced three others, including Juba Dal leader Abdul

Quader Bachchu, to nine years in imprisonment and 44 others to different jail terms, with a minimum of four years in the case.

The miscreants hurled bombs on the convoy of the then opposition leader Sheikh Hasina and even shot at her, as her motorcade reached in front of Kolaroa upazila BNP office in Satkhira on August 30, 2002. They vandalized a couple of vehicles of the convoy too.