Friday, 30 September, 2022

Dy Speaker Fazle Rabbi passes away

  • Staff Correspondent
  • 24 July, 2022 12:00 AM
  • Print news
Dy Speaker Fazle Rabbi passes away

Deputy Speaker of Jatiya Sangsad Fazle Rabbi Miah died of cancer while undergoing treatment in the USA on Saturday. He was 76.

Family sources said Fazle Rabbi, an MP from Gaibandha-5 constituency, breathed his last at Mount Sinai Hospital in New York at about 2:00am (BST).

He left behind three daughters, grandchildren and a host of relatives to mourn his death.

Fazle Rabbi, also a valiant freedom fighter, had been undergoing treatment of cancer in New York for about nine months.

President M Abdul Hamid, Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina and Speaker Dr Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury expressed profound shock and sorrow at the death of Deputy Speaker Fazle Rabbi.

They prayed for eternal peace of the departed soul and conveyed deep sympathy to the bereaved family.

In a condolence message, the President respectfully recalled Fazle Rabbi’s contribution to conducting the House proceedings with skills.

“The nation will remember with respects his contribution to the practice and development of country's parliamentary democracy.”

In another message, the Prime Minister said, “Fazle Rabbi Miah was involved in the movements against Ayub Khan and 1962's education commission and he fought in sector 11 during the Liberation War.”       

“He will be remembered forever due to his contribution to the parliamentary democracy,” she added.

Chief Justice Hasan Foez Siddique, opposition leader Raushon Ershad, deputy leader of the House Syeda Sajeda Chowdhury, Jatiya Party chairman GM Quader also condoled the death of Fazle Rabbi.

Besides, members of the cabinet, including Obaidul Quader, Abdur Razzaque, Asaduzzaman Khan Kamal, AKM Mozammel Haque, Dr Hasan Mahmud, Golam Dastagir Gazi, Tajul Islam and Dipu Moni, AK Abdul Momen, Shahab Uddin, Nuruzzaman Ahmed, Sadhan Chandra Majumder, SM Rezaul Karim, Saifuzzaman Chowdhury, Zahid Maleque, Nurul Majid Mahmud Humayun, AHM Mustafa Kamal, Anisul Huq, MA Mannan, Tipu Munshi, Bir Bahadur Ushwe Sing, Nurul Islam Sujan, Yeafesh Osman, Mustafa Jabbar, Imran Ahmed, Nasrul Hamid, Shahriar Alam, Farhad Hossain, Swapan Bhattacharjee, Zaheed Farooque, Sharif Ahmed, Enamur Rahman, KM Khalid, Mahbub Ali, Khalid Mahmud Chowdhury, Zunaid Ahmed Palak, Begum Monnujan Sufian, Ashraf Ali Khan, Zakir Hossain, Kamal Ahmed Majumder, Zahid Ahsan Russel, Fazilatun Nessa Indira, Faridul Haque Khan, Shamsul Alam and AKM Enamul Hoque Shameem also condoled the death of the deputy speaker.

In separate condolence messages, Chief Whip of the Parliament Noor-e-Alam Chowdhury and other whips, including Abu Sayeed Al Mahmood Swapon, also conveyed sympathy to the bereaved family and prayed for eternal peace of the departed soul of Fazle Rabbi.

Dhaka South City Corporation Mayor Sheikh Fazle Noor Tapos, Dhaka North City Corporation Mayor Atiqul Islam expressed shock at the death of the deputy speaker.

The body of Fazle Rabbi will arrive in Dhaka at 8:40am on Monday by an Emirates flight from New York, said a press release.

A namaz-e-janaza will be held after Zohr prayers on Sunday at the Jamaica Muslim Center in New York, it added.

On arrival, the body will be taken on the Supreme Court premises. After his first namaz-e-janaza at the National Eidgah ground and paying tribute by people of all strata, his body will be taken to his hometown Gaibandha by a military helicopter.

His body will be taken to Bharatkhali school playground for another namaz-e-janaja.

After his last janaza, Fazle Rabbi will be buried at his family graveyard at Gatia village in Saghata upazila of Gaibandha.

Fazle Rabbi was born on April 15, 1946 at Gatia village in Saghata of Gaibandha.

During the War of Liberation, he fought in Sector-11. He also worked to raise global public opinion in favour of Bangladesh’s independence.

Rabbi served as the State Minister of the Ministry of Law, Justice and Parliamentary Affairs, Whip of the National Parliament, Chairman of the Standing Committee on the Ministry of Law, Justice and Parliamentary Affairs.