Monday, 8 August, 2022

Squad for SAFF U-20 announced

  • Sports Correspondent
  • 22 July, 2022 12:00 AM
  • Print news
Squad for SAFF U-20 announced
Bangladesh Football Federation general secretary Abu Nayeem Shohag (second right) speaks to the media during a press conference at the BFF conference room on Thursday. — BFF PHOTO

Popular News

Bangladesh Football Federation on Thursday announced a 23-member squad of Bangladesh U-20s for the SAFF U-20 Championship, scheduled to be held from July 25 to August 5 at Kalinga Stadium in Bhubaneswar, India.

Defender Tanvir Hossain will lead the team while BFF technical director Paul Smalley will present in the dugout as the head coach of the U-20s. The Bangladesh team will leave for India today afternoon.

The details were disclosed in a press conference at the BFF house on this day.

Paul told the reporters that the team comprised the players from BFF Elite Academy and Bangladesh Championship League clubs as Bangladesh Premier League outfits hadn’t released their players due to the ongoing league.

“FIFA window is not running now. So, clubs are not obliged to release their players. Earlier it happened with England during the U-17 World Cup in 2017. One player didn't play with the finalist England team as his club called him back in the camp,” Paul said.

“So, the team comprised the players from BFF Elite Academy and Bangladesh Championship League clubs. Every player on this team is good. We aim to start the campaign by winning the first match,” he said.

Five teams including Bangladesh, Nepal, Sri Lanka, Maldives and India will take part in the round-robin meet. Bangladesh will play against Sri Lanka on July 25, India on July 27, the Maldives on July 29 and Nepal on August 2. The top two teams will play in the final on August 5.

Bangladesh squad: Goalkeepers: Md Emon, Md Asif and Shanto Kumar Ray; Defenders: Tanvir Hossain (C), Md Imran Khan, Ashikur Rahman, Shahin Ahammad, Md Rajon Hawladar, Azizul Hoque Ananto and Sirajul Islam Rana; Midfielders: Samuel Raksam, Sojol Tripura, Nazmul Huda Faysal, Akkas Ali, Mojibor Rahman Jony, Md Moinul Islam Moin (VC) and Shahidul Islam; Forwards: Md Nahian, Md Mursed Ali, Md Rafiqul Islam, Sajed Hasan Jummon, Md Piyash Ahmmed Nova and Miraj Islam.