Friday, 1 July, 2022

Rosatom delivers new model of nuclear fuel to India

  • Staff Correspondent
  • 13 June, 2022 12:00 AM
  • Print news

Rosatom State Corporation of Russia has supplied the first batches of TVS-2M nuclear fuel to India for the units-1 and 2 of Kudankulam NPP in India recently.

These units are powered by Russian VVER-1000 reactors, said a press release.

The new fuel model has an 18-months fuel cycle while the currently used UTVS fuel has a fuel cycle of 12 months operating cycles.

Compared to the UTVS fuel model, which was supplied to Kudankulam NPP previously, TVS-2M fuel assemblies have a number of advantages making them more reliable and cost-efficient.

First, it is the rigidity of a bundle: because of the welded frame, the fuel assemblies in the reactor core retain their geometry, the spacer grids protect fuel rod cladding from fretting wear (preventing from depressurization), and the additional spacer grid makes fuel assemblies more vibration-resistant.

Secondly, the new fuel has increased uranium capacity - one TVS-2M assembly contains 7.6 percent more fuel material as compared to UTVS. Besides, the special feature of the Kudankulam fuel in particular is the new generation anti-debris filter ADF-2, efficiently protecting fuel assemblies.

Operation in longer fuel cycles also enhances the economic efficiency of a plant, as reactors have to undergo stoppage and refueling less frequently, so the power units produce more electricity.

Besides, the power plant needs to purchase less fresh fuel, and as the result, has to deal with smaller amounts of spent nuclear fuel, which also requires expenses.

Kudanklum NPP in Tamil Nadu state of India involves the construction of 6 power units with VVER-1000 reactors with an installed capacity of 6000 MW.

 The first stage, consisting of power units No 1 and No 2 are now functioning. Currently, Power units 3,4,5,6 are under construction.

TVEL Fuel Company is the Fuel division of the State Corporation Rosatom of Russia will also supply fuel for both the units of Rooppur Nuclear Power Plant.