Thursday, 7 July, 2022

Jubo League Council for Ctg City, District Units Begins Today

Port city flooded with banners, posters

Port city flooded with banners, posters
Large flags, banners, festoons and posters of the leaders of Jubo League, the youth wing of ruling Awami League, are everywhere in Chattogram centering the council of the wing’s Chattogram south district unit today. The council of the youth front’s north district unit will be held tomorrow and the city unit on Monday. The snap was taken from Kazir Dewri area of Chattogram on Friday. - Rabin Chowdhury

Popular News

CHATTOGRAM: A festive mood is prevailing among the party leaders and activists over the council of three organisational units of Jubo League (JL), the youth wing of the ruling Awami League (AL), after a long time.

Of the units, the council of the Chattogram South district unit will be held today, while the North district will be held tomorrow and the city unit on Monday.

The South District Council will be held at Patiya Adarsha High School field, while the North District will be at Hathazari Parbarti High School and the City Unit at the ‘King of Chittagong’ community centre.

All-out preparations have already been made to make the councils successful. The central leaders will stay at the hotel ‘Radisson Blu Chattogram Bay View’ during the council.

 Candidates have hung thousands of banners and festoons on the road leading to the hotel Radisson and Chattogram Circuit House to attract the attention of senior leaders.

Speculations are mainly focused on the posts of president and general secretary of the three units.

The candidates are lobbying in all possible ways to secure the expected posts. Followers of the top local AL leaders had been getting priority in the JL committees in Chattogram for long.

However, communication with the central JL leaders by the candidates is hinting at a change in the tradition this time, insiders said.

Contacted JL Central General Secretary Mainul Hossain Khan Nikhil told the Daily Sun on Friday that they have set some criteria for picking up the new leadership.

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina has given a clear message that the derailed leaders and activists will not be allowed to operate under the umbrella of the JL, sources said. "The intruders and drug addicts will be kept out of the JL leadership this time," said Nikhil.

He added that all the necessary preparations had already been made to ensure the council's success.

Mentionable, the last committee of the South district unit JL was formed in 2010, electing AMM Tipu Sultan and ParthaSarothi Das as president and general secretary (GS) respectively.

A total of 13 candidates submitted their candidature for the post of president and 39 for the posts of general secretary this time.

Among them, Boalkhali Municipality Mayor Zahirul Islam Zahur, incumbent GS ParthaSarathi Chowdhury, former BCL Convener Mohammad Faruk, Nasir Uddin Mintu, Main Uddin Chowdhury, Nurul Amin, Chandnaish Juba League Convener TouhidulAlam and MA Rahim are in the race for the post of president, among others.

Besides, former BCL leaders Nurul Amin, Abdul Hannan Liton, Mohammad Solaiman Chowdhury, Saiful Islam, Raju Das Hiru, MahabubulAlam, SM Aziz,, and Jahedul Islam are ahead in the race for the GS post, said sources concerned.

On the other hand, the last committee of the North District unit JL was formed in 2012, making Sitakunda Upazila Chairman SM Al Mamun and Hathazari Upazila Chairman RashedulAlampresident and GS, respectively.

A total of nine candidates submitted their candidature for the post of president, and 22 for the GS this time.

The names of incumbent GS RashedulAlam, Organising Secretary Mujibur Rahman Swapan, former BCL President Rajib Ul Ahsan Sumon and former CU BCL General Secretary Md Nasir Haider Karim Babul are being discussed widely for the president's post.

Besides, CU BCL former Joint GS Joynal Abedin, BCL North district former GSAbu Tayyab, Syed ManzurAlam, Rangunia upazila JL President ShamsuddohaSikderArju, RanguniaupazilaSafarbhata UP Chairman Sheikh Farid, City College former BCL leader Rashed Khan Menon, Sandwip's Maitbhanga UP Chairman Mizanur Rahman and SM Al Noman are ahead in the race for the GS post.

The last committee of JL Chattogram City unit was formed in 2013.

Mohiuddin Bachchu was made convener of the committee, while Farid Mahmud, Delwar Hossain Khoka, Didarul Alam Didar and Mahbubul Hoq Sumon were made joint conveners.

Some 35 candidates submitted their biodata for the president's post, and 70 for the GS post this time.

City unit BCL former General Secretary MR Azim, incumbent JL Joint Conveners Mahbubul Haque Sumon, DidarulAlam Chowdhury, councillor Hasan Murad Biplob, City College BCL former President Debashish Pal Debu, MES College former GS SuranjitBaruaLabu, JL leader Helal Uddin, ArshedulAlamBachchu, Abdul Mannan Ferdous, Mohammad SajjatHossain, Sumon Debnath and Habibur Rahman Tareq are intended for the president post, among others.

Besides, city BCL former General Secretary Nurul Azim Rony, Md Salauddin, Central BCL Assistant Secretary Ashikunnabi Chowdhury, Polytechnic unit former GS Abu Md Mohiuddin, Councilor Wasim Uddin, CU BCL former GS Fazle Rabbi Sujan, MES College BCL leader Ilias Hossain and Central BCL Assistant Secretary Yasir Arafat are ahead in the race, among others, said the sources concerned.