Thursday, 30 June, 2022

Umakant-led panel sweeps PCI polls

NEW DELHI: President Umakant Lakhera-led panel made a clean sweep in the 2022 annual election of Press Club of India (PCI).

They bagged all the 21 posts of the club including 5 office-bearers. Three other opposition panels drew a blank.

Senior journalist Lakhera has been reelected President for the second term and Vinay Kumar as Secretary General.

Among other office-holders Manoranjan Bharti of NDTV India has been elected vice-president, Swati Mathur of Times of India joint secretary and senior sports journalist Chander Shekhar Luthra as treasurer.

Sixteen managing committee members are: Aadesh Rawal of Lokmat Hindi, Amit Pandey of News 24 channel, Amrita Madhukalya of Deccan Herald, Anish Kumar of Asianet News, Kritika Sharma of The Print, M Abdul Bari Masud of Daily Salar, Md Mahatab Alam of The Wire, Manavender Basisth of PTI, Mihir Gautam of NDTV, Rahil Chopra of Network 18 tv, Sangeeta Barua of The Wire, Srinavas Rao of TV 5, Vinayak Padmadeo of The Tribune and Vineeta Thakur of AIR.