Tuesday, 24 May, 2022

Prime Bank force SK Jamal to wait for DPL title

  • Sports Correspondent
  • 25 April, 2022 12:00 AM
  • Print news
Prime Bank force SK Jamal to wait for DPL title

Prime Bank Cricket Club forced Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club to wait for the title celebration after they clinched an eight-wicket win during the third round super league match of the ongoing Bangabandhu Dhaka Premier Division Cricket League 2021-22 at the BKSP-4 venue on Sunday.

Other title-aspiring Legends of Rupganj also lost to Abahani Limited by 81 runs during their third-round match at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur and missed an opportunity to reduce the point gap with Sheikh Jamal.

In the other super league match, Rupganj Tigers Cricket Club defeated Gazi Group Cricketers by 84 runs at the BKSP-3 venue on the same day.

Meanwhile, the last relegation league match between Brothers Union and City Club was abandoned without a ball being bowled due to wet outfield at the Khan Shaheb Osman Ali Stadium in Fatullah.

Both the teams earlier avoided relegation to the lower tier and will be in the top tier league for the next season as well.

Prime Bank VS Sheikh Jamal

A victory of Sheikh Jamal against Prime Bank was enough for them to clinch the ongoing DPL title as Rupganj lost to Abahani in the day’s other fixture.

However, Sheikh Jamal failed to do so, especially for their batters, who could only post 232-8 in their stipulated 50 overs after being sent into bat first. Nurul Hasan top-scored with 71 runs while Mehidy Hasan and Parvez Rasool made 47 and 37 runs respectively.

Prime Bank, in reply, reached 234-2 in just 40.2 overs after Tamim Iqbal struck the highest 90 runs while Anamul Haque and Shahadat Hossain made identical 52 runs.

Rupganj VS Abahani

Fifties from Najmul Hossain Shanto (86) and Afif Hossain (62) helped Abahani score 279-7 in their stipulated overs after deciding to bat first.

Shakib Al Hasan and Al-Amin Hossain took three and two wickets respectively. Rupganj, in reply, lost wickets at regular intervals and apart from Chirag Jani’s 48, no other batters could contribute much with the bat and they were bowled out for 198 runs in 41.5 overs.

Abahani skipper Mosaddek Hossain finished with 4-30 while Tanvir Islam took three wickets.

Rupganj Tigers VS Gazi Group

Fazle Mahmud struck 104 off 108 balls before his retiring out while Imran Uzzaman and Marshall Ayub made 73 and 53 runs respectively as Rupganj Tigers posted a massive total of 314-4 in 50 overs after being sent into bat first.

Middle-order batsman Ariful Haque also struck a late cameo of 41 runs off 13 balls with one four and five sixes.

Gazi Group, in reply, could only manage to score 230 runs in 43.3 overs to concede a big defeat in the contest. Mahmudul Hasan and skipper Akbar Ali made 59 and 50 runs respectively for Gazi Group while Nasum Ahmed (4-54) and Sharifullah (3-41) shared seven wickets between them for Rupganj Tigers.