Friday, 1 July, 2022

Sheikh Jamal inch closer to DPL title

Khelaghar relegated to lower tier

  • Sports Correspondent
  • 22 April, 2022 12:00 AM
  • Print news
Sheikh Jamal inch closer to DPL title
Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club batsman Nurul Hasan Sohan plays a shot against Rupganj Tigers Cricket Club during a DPL super league phase match at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur on Thursday. — SUN PHOTO

Wicketkeeper-batsman Nurul Hasan struck a brilliant unbeaten hundred to help Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club move inch closer to their maiden Dhaka Premier Division Cricket League title as they beat Rupganj Tigers Cricket Club by four wickets during their second super league match in Mirpur on Thursday.

Nurul struck an unbeaten 132 off 118 balls with 10 fours and five sixes and shared a crucial 134-run stand for the sixth wicket with Mehidy Hasan (43) to guide Sheikh Jamal to 251-6 in 49 runs after they were set for a target of 248 runs.

Sheikh Jamal now only need one win from their remaining three super league matches to confirm their first-ever DPL title.

Only Legends of Rupganj remained in the title hunt alongside Sheikh Jamal after they defeated Prime Bank Cricket Club by three wickets in a low-scoring over-curtailed match at the BKSP-4 venue.

In the other super league match, Gazi Group Cricketers defeated Abahani Limited by 27 runs at the BKSP-3 venue after their off-spinner Al-Amin finished with a career-best 6-22.

Meanwhile, in the relegation zone match, Khelaghar Samaj Kallayan Samity confirmed their demotion to the lower tier after they lost to Brothers Union by eight wickets at the Khan Shaheb Osman Ali Stadium in Fatullah on the same day.     

Sheikh Jamal VS Rupganj Tigers

Zakir Hasan and Saad Nasim made 75 and 50 not out respectively to help Rupganj Tigers post 247-6 in 50 overs after being sent into bat first.

Mehidy (3-40) and Sunzamul Islam (2-46) shared five wickets between them.

Sheikh Jamal, in reply, were reduced at 81-5 in the 21st over before Nurul and Mehidy put up a hundred plus stand to bring them back in the contest.

Mehidy’s run-out to Marshall Ayub direct throw brought some excitement to the game but Nurul then struck pacer Mukidul Islam for 26 runs (three sixes and two fours) in the penultimate over of the game to give his side a breathtaking victory with one over to spare.

Rupganj VS Prime Bank

Despite Anamul Haque’s scoring 73 runs, Prime Bank could only manage to score 152 runs in 31.2 overs in a rain-marred 33-over per side game after being sent into bat first.

Anamul’s 73, however, helped him to become the highest run-getter in a single edition of DPL after it received List A recognition in 2013. The right-hander surpassed Saif Hassan’s 814 runs record (in the 2019 edition) and already scored 878 runs with three matches still to play in the league.

In reply, Rupganj found them struggling at 84-7 in 20.1 overs but Muktar Ali and Tanbir Hayder made unbeaten 39 and 31 runs respectively to guide them to 154-7 in 32.4 overs to complete a thrilling victory.

Rupganj’s Shakib Al Hasan, who returned to the DPL for the first time since his last year’s ban, made 21 runs after finishing with 2-19.

Gazi Group VS Abahani

Fifties from Mahmudul Hasan (87), Farhad Hossain (57) and Dhruv Shorey (55 not out) helped Gazi Group post a massive total of 276-6 in their regulated 36 overs after Abahani sent them to bat first.

Abahani, in reply, got a rollicking start after their openers Najmul Hossain Shanto (76) and Munim Shahriar (61) put up a 110-run stand in just 13 overs.

However, since the break of the partnership, Abahani lost wickets at regular intervals and apart from skipper Mosaddek Hossain’s fighting 73 off 50-ball innings, none of the other batters could contribute much with the bat.

Abahani were finally bowled out for 249 runs in 34.3 overs which also ended their chance of retaining the DPL title.

Khelaghar VS Brothers

Khelaghar needed to register a big win against Brothers on Thursday in order to keep their hopes of playing in the top-tier league alive but they suffered a massive defeat in the hands of Brothers to concede the relegation from the league.

Sent into bat first, Khelaghar could only make 152 runs in 35.1 overs in a 37-over per side match with Sachin Baby top-scoring with 64 runs.

Brothers skipper Imtiaz Hossain then struck unbeaten 87 runs to guide them to 154-2 in 34.5 overs to confirm their stay in the DPL for the next season.