Tuesday, 5 July, 2022

Mujibnagar Day

Govt declares public holiday on April 17

The government has announced April 17 as a public holiday at Mujibnagar in Meherpur district marking the historic Mujibnagar Day, reports UNB.

The Public Administration Ministry issued a notification in this regard on Wednesday.

The holiday has been declared as part of the national programme organised by the Ministry of Liberation War Affairs.

On April 17 in 1971, senior leaders of Awami League assembled at Baidyanathtala, a mango orchard, which was later named as Mujibnagar, in Meherpur district to form the provisional government of independent Bangladesh in the absence of Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman who was arrested and flown to Pakistan after Pakistan military had cracked down on the Bangalees on the night of March 25, 1971.

Bangabandhu was declared the first President of the People's Republic of Bangladesh, while Vice-president Syed Nazrul Islam became the acting president in the absence of Bangabandhu.

Tajuddin Ahmad was appointed the first Prime Minister, while Khandoker Moshtaque Ahmed, M Mansur Ali and AHM Quamaruzzaman were named cabinet members.