Wednesday, 25 May, 2022

Editors’ Council gets new body

  • Staff Correspondent
  • 8 March, 2022 12:00 AM
  • Print news
Editors’ Council gets new body

Popular News

Mahfuz Anam, editor and publisher of The Daily Star, and Dewan Hanif Mahmud, editor of the Bonik Barta, have been elected president and general secretary of the executive committee of Sampadak Parishad (Editors Council) respectively.

Nurul Kabir, editor of the New Age, and Shyamal Dutta, editor of the Bhorer Kagaj have been elected vice-president while Zafar Sobhan, editor of the Dhaka Tribune, has been elected as assistant general secretary and Matiur Rahman Chowdhury, the editor of Manabzamin, as treasurer. 

Five executive members of the committee are Ittefaq Editor Tasmima Hossain, Ajker Patrika Editor Dr Golam Rahman, Jugantor Editor Saiful Alam,  Karatoa Editor Mozammel Hoque   and Dainik Azadi Editor MA Malek. The Sampadak Parishad, in a meeting at The Daily Star Centre on Sunday, formed its new executive committee for the next two years, said a press release.

At the meeting, Editors’ Council paid homage to veteran journalist Riaz Uddin Ahmed, a founding member of organisation. Prothom Alo Editor Matiur Rahman, Samakal Acting Editor Mozammel Hossain and Inqilab Editor AMM Bahauddin were present, among others, at the meeting.