Wednesday, 25 May, 2022

Bangladesh Tigers’ programme concludes

  • Sports Correspondent
  • 8 March, 2022 12:00 AM
  • Print news
Bangladesh Tigers’ programme concludes

Popular News

The much-awaited ‘Bangladesh Tigers’ programme, a development programme launched by the BCB recently that ended in Bogura on Monday.

The programme included several Test specialists in order to prepare them for the upcoming tour of South Africa in the green-top wicket at the Shaheed Chandu Stadium in Bogura which was started on February 26.

“We planned to have the camp keeping in mind because we have the South Africa tour ahead. There is always some pace and bounce in Bogura wicket and we instructed the curator to prepare the wicket that has some pace and bounce,” BCB national selector Habibul Bashar was quoted on Monday.

“We know we cannot prepare like the way it is prepared in South Africa but we still tried to make it quite similar to it. I have spoken with everyone and it seems they are very happy and saying that there was a sporting wicket here,” he said.

“This camp is certainly helpful for the cricketers and they are now getting a platform to prepare them and that will certainly help the selection panel as well because we can get ready players if we have to pick someone outside our group. This is the primary goal of Bangladesh Tigers programme,” he added.

BCB initiated the move of launching the Bangladesh Tigers programme in an attempt to provide a platform for cricketers to develop their skills under the supervision of a dedicated coaching panel. The training was conducted under eight local coaches where the players are working on particular skills.

Bangladesh Tigers squad: Mominul Haque, Fazle Mahmud Rabbi, Saif Hassan, Shadman Islam, Soumya Sarkar, Imrul Kayes, Pinak Ghosh, Anamul Haque, Mosaddek Hossain Saikot, Mohammad Mithun, Saikot Ali, Zakir Hasan, Taijul Islam, Nazmul Islam Apu, Nahidul Islam, Nayeem Hasan, Rubel Hossain, Abu Jayed Rahi, Khaled Ahmed, Abu Haider Rony, Kamrul Islam Rabbi, Mehedi Hasan Rana and Mrittunjoy Chowdhury.