Sunday, 29 May, 2022

EC Reconstitution

12-13 names shortlisted

  • Staff Correspondent
  • 21 February, 2022 12:00 AM
  • Print news
12-13 names shortlisted

The Search Committee has compiled a shortlist of 12-13 names to propose 10 names for five posts of a new Election Commission (EC).

The committee will finalise 10 names at its last meeting tomorrow. They would not make public the list, which would be submitted to President M Abdul Hamid.

The panel will submit 10 names to the President for the election of Chief Election Commissioner and four commissioners.

Earlier, the committee drew up the shortlist from 20 names which were earlier shortlisted from 50 ones.

They shortlisted 50 names from 321 names proposed by different political parties, professional bodies and individuals.

The Cabinet Division on February 14 published a list of 322 names proposed by political parties, professional bodies and individuals. But, a person withdrew his name from the race.

After emerging from a meeting of the Search Committee on Sunday, chief of the panel Justice Obaidul Hassan told reporters that they have finalized 12-13 names from 20.

“A short list of 12-13 persons from 20 was prepared by axing seven persons in line with the new law. Some 10 names will be submitted before the President after holding Tuesday’s meeting,” he said.

Referring to Tuesday’s meeting, Hassan said they will finalise the 10 names on the day.

Replying to a question, Hasan said their task is to make recommendation as per the law. They will make the list public if the President wishes.

“Otherwise, the President will make the list public. We don’t have the right to make the list public as per the law,” he said.

Responding to another question whether there is any possibility to induct new name, Hassan said they have the authority to induct names.

“But, we do not want to take the path,” he added.

Earlier, the Search Committee started the meeting with Justice Obaidul Hassan in the chair at Judges Lounge of the Supreme Court.

Other committee members Justice SM Quddus Zaman, Auditor General and Controller of Bangladesh Mohammad Muslim Chowdhury, Bangladesh Public Service Commission Chairman Sohrab Hossain, former Election Commissioner Sohul Hossain and author Anwara Syed Haque were present at the meeting.

The committee is scheduled to submit 10 names to the President by February 24 for EC reconstitution.

Some 26 political parties, including the ruling Awami League and opposition Jatiya Party, submitted their choice lists to the Search Committee within the first deadline of February 11.

Although the panel later extended the deadline until February 14, some registered political parties, including Bangladesh Nationalist Party, did not submit any names.

Under such a situation, the committee has decided to keep the scope for the political parties to submit names until the last moment.

Earlier on February 5, the President formed the Search Committee which will propose two names against each of the five posts analysing their qualifications and ineligibility.

President M Abdul Hamid will constitute the new EC, taking five names from the proposed list.

The new EC will oversee the next parliamentary polls and other elections to be held in the next five years.

The tenure of the incumbent EC, led by KM Nurul Huda, ended on February 14.