Friday, 20 May, 2022

Comilla Victorians clinch BBPL title

Defeat Barishal in last-ball thriller

  • Sports Correspondent
  • 19 February, 2022 12:00 AM
  • Print news

Comilla Victorians clinched the title of the eighth edition of Bangabandhu Bangladesh Premier League (BBPL) T20 after they defeated Fortune Barishal by one run in the thrilling final at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur on Friday.

Despite being at the backfoot in most part of the match, Comilla bowlers showcased a tremendous fightback in the slog overs to limit Barishal to 150-8 after they posted 151-9 while opting to bat first.

Barishal, which only needed 18 runs in the final three overs, lost their way in the match after Sunil Narine conceded only two runs in the 18th over while he also took the wicket of Dwayne Bravo (one).

Mustafizur Rahman, who went for 25 runs in his first three overs, gave only six runs and trapped Najmul Hossain Shanto (12) in front in the penultimate over which made the equation difficult for Barishal - 10 runs off the last over.

Another pacer Shohidul Islam then conceded five runs in the first four balls of the final over before Towhid Hridoy was dropped by Tanvir Islam at deep square and he also took two runs off the penultimate delivery.

However, Shohidul held his nerves in the last ball and bowled a full outside off delivery from which Hridoy could take a single while he also was run out attempting another run which could take the match into super over.

Thus Comilla won the nail-biting last-ball thriller in the final and completed their third BPL title after 2015 and 2019 respectively.

Earlier, Sunil Narine continued his blazing form and smashed 57 off 23 balls while Moeen Ali made 38 off 32 balls but regular fall of wickets checked Comilla’s scoring rate.

Comilla got another flying start thanks to Narine who struck 33 out of their 36 runs in the first two overs of their innings after deciding to bat first.

Shakib made an immediate impact by dismissing the other opener Liton Das (four) in the third over of their innings but Narine continued to strike the balls hard and completed his successive fifty in the tournament off 21 balls.

However, the dismissal of Narine in the last over of the power-play slowed down Comilla’s run pace and they started to lose wickets at regular intervals.

Comilla, which were at 73-2 after six overs, suddenly found them struggling at 95-6 in the 11th over after Mahmudul Hasan Joy, Faf du Plessis, Imrul Kayes and Ariful Haque all departed cheaply in the innings.

Moeen and Abu Hider (19) then put up a 54-run stand for the seventh wicket to give their innings some decency but it lacked the late fire-power that could help them post a challenging total on board.

Barishal pacer Shafiqul Islam’s (2-31) last over saw three Comilla batsmen getting dismissed including Moeen’s run-out.

Chasing a modest total, Barishal lost their in-form batsman Munim Shahriar (0) in the second over off pacer Shohidul Islam but Shykat and Gayle then put up a 74-run stand for the second wicket to bring their side back in the match.

Shykat, who returned to the side after eight matches in place of experienced Ziaur Rahman, lived up to the expectations of the team management and smashed Comilla bowlers all around the ground to complete his fifty off just 26 balls.

The 28-year-old was finally dismissed by left-arm spinner Tanvir Islam after making 58 off 34 balls before Gayle and Nurul shared a 28-run stand to take their score over the 100-run mark.

The partnership was broken by Narine who trapped his Caribbean counterpart for 33 in front and Comilla then witnessed a similar batting collapse afterwards and lost the match by the lowest of margin.