Saturday, 28 May, 2022

ICC T20 World Cup 2022 Fixtures Revealed

Bangladesh get India, Pakistan in Super 12

  • Sports Correspondent
  • 22 January, 2022 12:00 AM
  • Print news
Bangladesh get India, Pakistan in Super 12

Popular News

Bangladesh were drawn alongside India, Pakistan, South Africa and two qualifiers in Group 2 of Super 12 stage as the International Cricket Council on Friday announced the fixtures of the forthcoming ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022, scheduled to take place in Australia from October 16 to November 13.

Hosts and reigning champions Australia were placed in Group 1 along with England, New Zealand, Afghanistan and two more qualifiers as the Super 12 stage will get underway on October 22 in Sydney with the clash between two finalists of the previous T20 World Cup held last year.

The 16-team event which will see a total of 45 matches in seven venues, however, will begin with the qualifying event and Sri Lanka will take on Namibia in the first match of Group A in Geelong on the opening day while two qualifying teams will also fight in the same group. 

Two-time World T20 champions West Indies and Scotland were placed in Group B of the qualifiers alongside two more qualifying teams for the tournament.

The Tigers will begin their T20 World Cup campaign against Group A runners-up on October 24 in Hobart while they will then face South Africa and Group B champions on October 27 and 30 respectively in Sydney and Brisbane. 

Bangladesh will play against India on November 2 in Adelaide while they will face Pakistan in their last Super 12 match at the same venue on November 6.

The most anticipated match between India and Pakistan will take place on October 23 in Melbourne. 

It will be the first World Cup clash between the two nations at the MCG and comes before two more fierce rivals, Australia and England, meet at the same venue on October 28. 

The semifinals will take place on November 9 and 10 respectively in Sydney and Adelaide while the final will be hosted by Melbourne on November 13.

Australia were originally scheduled to host the event in 2020 before it was postponed due to Covid-19 and rescheduled for 2022.

It’s the first time Australia will host the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup and they will enter the eighth edition of the tournament as defending champions after winning their maiden title in 2021, defeating New Zealand in the final played at Dubai International Stadium in UAE.