Friday, 20 May, 2022

Mustafiz named in ICC T20I team of the year

  • Sports Correspondent
  • 20 January, 2022 12:00 AM
  • Print news

Bangladesh pacer Mustafizur Rahman has been named in ICC Men’s Twenty20 Team of The Year 2021 for his brilliant performance in the last calendar year.

Surprisingly, the ICC has not included a single Indian player in this team. In the best T20 team of 2021, three each from Pakistan and South Africa, two each for Australia, one player each from England, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh.

The left-arm seamer was the most successful pacer in T20 internationals among all full ICC members in 2021 with 28 wickets in 20 T20Is for Bangladesh at an average of 17.39 and an economy rate of seven.

To reveal as to why Mustafizur was included in the team of the year, the ICC wrote: “The Bangladesh left-arm seamer again ruled the roost in T20I cricket in 2021 with his clever variations and change of pace. Lethal upfront and at the death, he scalped 28 wickets in 20 matches at an average of 17.39. He also proved tough for the batters to get away as proven by his economy of 7.00.”

Babar Azam, the Pakistan captain was made the captain of the T20 team of the year in which he found two of his colleagues-Mohammad Rizwan and Shaheen Shah Afridi.

ICC Men’s T20 Team of The Year 2021: Jos Buttler, Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Babar Azam (captain), Aiden Markram, Mitchell Marsh, David Miller, Tabraiz Shamsi, Josh Hazlewood, Wanindu Hasaranga, Mustafizur Rahman and Saheen Shah Afridi.