Friday, 21 January, 2022

NEWS in brief

Anwara Syed, Wasi Ahmed get Abu Rushd Literary Award

The advisory board of ‘Abu Rushd Memorial Committee’ has decided to award Anwara Syed Hoq and Wasi Ahmed, the first-ever ‘Abu Rushd Literary Award’- 21 for their novels ‘Chokh’ and ‘Borofkol’ respectively.

Each of the awardees will receive Tk 50,000 cash and a certificate, said a press release.

Besides, the committee also recognised two other books ‘Nodidhara Abashik Elaka’ by Papree Rahman and ‘Manush Hobar Kalponik Golpo’ by Mahmud Akhtar Shareef with ‘Abu Rushd Medal of recognition for Literature’.

Each of the authors will receive a certificate and a medal.

This year, Abu Rushd Literary Award, has been introduced in the memory of the eminent writer, scholar, academic, government servant, and freedom fighter Professor Abu Rushd Matinuddin (1919-2010).

Each year on his birthday on December 25, the award will be given to recognise the creative works of Bangladeshi authors in different categories.

In a recent meeting chaired by Professor Serajul Islam Choudhury, announced their name while the members of the advisory board M Syedduzzaman, retired Major General FR Mamun, Professor Abdullah Abu Sayeed, Selina Hossain, Khushi Kabir, Sara Zaker, Abu Kamal, Shaheen Rushd and Dr Syed Sadrul Huda, were present on the occasion.