Friday, 21 January, 2022

Ashraful to lead Bangladesh in Asian Champions Trophy

  • Staff Correspondent
  • 11 December, 2021 12:00 AM
  • Print news

The Bangladesh Hockey Federation on Friday named a 20-member final squad for the Asian Champions Trophy.

Defender Ashraful Islam will lead the team in the tournament while another defender Sohanur Rahman Sabuj was named as vice-captain of the team.

Midfielder Prince Laal Samundo, who got the maiden call in the national camp, was also added to the final squad.

Eight players -- Asim Gope, Manoj Babu, Khaled Mahmud Rakin, Hasan Jubayer Niloy, Milon Hossen, Mainul Islam Khoushik, Rajib Das and Md Mahbub Hossain, who were part of the 28-member preliminary squad – were excluded. The hosts will take on Malaysia in their opening match on December 14 before they face India, Korea, Japan and Pakistan on December 15, 17, 18 and 19 respectively in the round-robin format tournament.

The semifinals will be held on December 21 while the final will be played on the next day.

Meanwhile, Bangladesh national hockey team suffered a 4-1 goals defeat to Japan in their first practice match of the Asian Champions Trophy at the Maulana Bhasani Hockey Stadium in the capital on the same day.

Bangladesh conceded three goals in the first quarter while they conceded another goal in the second quarter to trail the match 0-4.

 Forward Khorshedur Rahman scored a consolation goal for the hosts in the third quarter that only reduced the margin of defeat.

The hosts will take on Pakistan in their second practice match at the same venue on Sunday.

Bangladesh squad:

Goalkeepers: Abu Sayeed Nippon, Biplob Khujur; Defenders: Khorshedur Rahman, Forhad Ahmed Shitul, Ashraful Islam (capt), Sohanur Rahman Sabuj (vice-capt), Mehedi Hasan, Rezaul Karim Babu, Shofiul Alam Shishir, Sarwar Morshed Shawon; Midfielders: Sarowar Hossain, Roman Sarker, Naim Uddin, Fazle Hossain Rabbi, Prince Laal Samundo; Forwards: Rasel Mahmud Jimmi, Md Arshad Hossain, Deen Islam Emon, Rakibul Hasan and Puskor Khisa Mimo.