Tuesday, 25 January, 2022

Tigresses secure maiden 50-over World Cup berth

  • Sports Correspondent
  • 28 November, 2021 12:00 AM
  • Print news
Tigresses secure maiden 50-over World Cup berth

Bangladesh national women’s team secured their maiden berth in the 50-over Women’s World Cup in a bizarre way after the International Cricket Council on Saturday called off the ongoing nine-team qualifying tournament in Harare, Zimbabwe due to the introduction of travel restrictions from a number of African countries.

The travel restrictions were imposed in the wake of the outbreak of a new Covid-19 variant in South Africa.

The decision also saw Pakistan and West Indies joining Bangladesh in the list as these three teams will take part in the upcoming ICC Women’s World Cup in New Zealand next year after the qualifiers were decided according to the team rankings as detailed in the tournament playing conditions.

Bangladesh previously took part in four ICC Women’s T20 World Cup but never qualified for the 50-over Women’s World Cup.

“We are incredibly disappointed to have to cancel the remainder of this event but with travel restrictions from a number of African countries being imposed at such short notice there was a serious risk that teams would be unable to return home,” ICC Head of Events Chris Tetley said.

 “We have explored a number of options to allow us to complete the event but it isn’t feasible and we will fly the teams out of Zimbabwe as soon as possible.

“Bangladesh, Pakistan and the West Indies will now qualify for the ICC Women’s World Cup 2022 by virtue of their rankings, whilst Sri Lanka and Ireland will also join them in the next cycle of the ICC Women’s Championship,” he added.

Bangladesh earlier played three matches in the tournament where they won two and lost one game in their Group B fixtures. They were scheduled to play hosts Zimbabwe on Monday in their last Group fixture.

Meanwhile, on Saturday, The Group A match between West Indies and Sri Lanka could not be staged as a member of the Sri Lanka team support staff tested positive for Covid-19.

The teams who have qualified for the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup 2022 to be held in New Zealand from March 4 to April 3 next year are - Australia, England, India, South Africa, New Zealand (hosts), Pakistan, West Indies and Bangladesh.