Friday, 3 December, 2021

Independence Cup to start with Sk Russel-Baridhara match Saturday

  • Sports Correspondent
  • 25 November, 2021 12:00 AM
  • Print news

The season curtain-raiser Independence Cup will start with the opening match between Sheikh Russel Krira Chakra and Uttar Baridhara Club on November 27 at the Bir Sherestha Shaheed Sepoy Mostafa Kamal Stadium in the capital at 4:00pm.

Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club will play Air Force Football Team in the day’s other match at 6:00ppm at the same venue.

Bangladesh champions Bashundhara Kings will play their first match against Navy Football Team on November 30 at 6:00pm. Kings will their other group matches against Police Football Club and Chattogram Abahani Limited on December 4 and 8 respectively.

Dhaka Abahani Ltd will start their campaigns taking on Swadhinata Krira Sangha on November 28 while Mohammedan will play their first match against Muktijoddha SKC and Saif SC will start with a match against Army Football Club, both on November 29.

A total of 15 teams – 12 participating teams and 3 service teams – split into four groups, are taking part in the competition. The top two teams from each group will play quarterfinals on December 10 and 12 while the semifinals and final will take place on Dec 14 and 18, all at the same venue.