Saturday, 27 November, 2021

Sk Russel complete registration formalities

  • Sports Correspondent
  • 25 November, 2021 12:00 AM
  • Print news

The former Bangladesh Premier League champions Sheikh Russel Krira Chakra completed their registration formalities ahead of the 2021-22 season at the Bangladesh Football Federation house on Wednesday. 

The club formed a 31-member squad including four foreigners and five national stars. The four newly signed foreigners -- defender Aizar Akmatov from FC Dordoi Bishkek, midfielder Thiago Eduardo Do Amaral from Persipura Jayapura, forward Ailton Machado De Souza Rosa from Kasetsart FC, and forward Esmael Ruti Tavares Cruz Da Silva from Chennaiyin FC.

Among the national stars, the club retained goalkeeper Ashraful Islam Rana and midfielder Md Abdullah while newly recruited defender Rahmat Mia from Saif Sporting Club, midfielder Saad Uddin from Abahani Dhaka Ltd, defender Habibur Rahman Shohag from Dhaka Mohammedan Sporting Club, midfielder Manik Hossain Molla from in Chattagram Abahani Ltd and forward Md Jewel from Police Football Club.  

“The upcoming season is going to be too tough and competitive. Most of the team will try to clinch the title, we are also among them. We changed all our foreign players, tried to get the best. Two of them have already arrived, another one will arrive on Thursday,” Sheikh Russel coach Saiful Bari Titu told reporters after completing the registration formalities.

The other three clubs -- including Dhaka Mohammedan, Saif, and Police -- also completed their registration. The rest of the other teams including Bashundhara Kings, Abahani Dhaka will complete registration today (Thursday).

Meanwhile, Mohammedan formed a 31-member team including four foreigners. They only retained the Souleymane Diabate while newly signed midfielder Ugochukwu Obi Moneke and two defenders -- Rear don Aaron John, Mecinovikj Jasmin. The traditional black and white didn’t recruit any current national stars in the squad, but they signed former national midfielder Mamunul Islam and a youngster from age-level team Amir Hakim Bappi.

Saif formed a 32-member team including four foreigners and four national stars. The club signed -- Nigerian forwards Emeka Ogbugh and Mfon Sunday Udoh, Rwanda defender Emery Bayisenge and Uzbek midfielder Asror Gafurov. 

Also, the club retained national team captain Jamal Bhuyan, defender Riyadul Hasan Rafi, forward Foysal Ahmed Fahim, and goalkeeper Pappu Hossain. Apart from them, former national team member SM Monjurur Rahman Manik, age-team member Nihat Jaman Ucchash will also play for Saif this season.

Elsewhere, Police formed a 35-member team including four new foreigners -- forwards Adil Kouskoue and Amiruddin Sharifi, midfielder Denilson Rodrigues Roldao, defender Danilo Augusto Chapoval Azevedo. They hadn’t signed any national players but kept age-level team members -- forward Faisal Ahmed Shitol, defender Isa Faysal and midfielder Umar Faruk Mithu in their team for the upcoming season.

On the other hand, three services teams – Bangladesh Navy, Bangladesh Army and Bangladesh Air force -- who are going to take part in the season curtain-raiser Independence Cup, beginning from November 27 -- also completed their registration formalities this day. Navy formed a 30-member squad, Army a 30-member squad, and Air force a 25-member squad.